Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 27743
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


waipawa
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 44
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 27743
Region: Hawkes Bay

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 9, 2018

Hey Guys and Girls

**Phone is currently broken so please email don't call**

My name is Abe and I live on a beautiful farm owned by Helen who is a friend of my mother. We are approximately 40km south of Hastings.

I'm 28yrs old and I study teaching and spend the rest of my time helping Helen with Jobs around the farm. Jobs include, Fencing, gardening, Looking after stock (we have 27 Cows and aprox 40 sheep), planting trees, clearing blackberry and thistles, cooking meals for yourself and Helen, as well as the occasional house repair job and at some stage a huge organisation project and tidyup in the garage.

We are looking for one or two reliable and hardworking people to come and stay and help out. Because I study and Helen works full time, you will need to be self motivated and able to handle yourselves during the day when we are not.
Tasks for those days when we are not here will mostly include vegetable garden work, pruning blackberries and planting trees as well as preparing meals for yourself and Helen (I live in my own little self contained cottage and cook for myself, flatmate (Richard) and my son(Theodore).)

Accomodation and food are supplied and we expect a Minimum of 20 hours work done per week (not including cooking meals). How you want to do the time is up to you. eg 5x4hr days, 3x6hr days and an hour a day for 2 days. ect... sometimes we will plan a full day and I try to do 6hours every wednesday which would be good days to help me with repair jobs or for me to teach you about an aspect of farm life.
Helen also quite often needs a hand on her days off so one week might be quite different to the next.

the rest of your time is yours to explore the local area, explore your own spirituality and in the past some helpers have even picked up part time work in the local townships which host a number of cafes, restaurants, retail stores and much more.

If you are an easy going, earth lover who knows about organics, permaculture and living with the land.
Or if you want to learn and you believe in yourself that you have what it takes, then please get in touch and come visit us.

Ideally looking for short term stays (2-4 weeks) but will consider extensions for exceptional souls.

Nga Mihi
Namaste
Sincerely
Abraham ( & Helen)


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use