Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 27768
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Willalooka
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1215
Persons: 1,2 or 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 27768
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 13, 2018

My husband Russell and I run a family owned sheep and cattle farm, running around 500 Cattle and 2500 sheep. We are a young family with 2 kids (12 and 15 Y/O). We have pets, several working dogs and some native wildlife.

We are located in the heart of the South East of South Australia. It's a great half way stop between Adelaide and Melbourne. You will get Telstra mobile reception, We are 25 mins to town (Keith), 2 Mins to the local pub, 1 Hr to the coast (Robe) and quite close to wine country (Coonawarra). Weekends are generally spent relaxing or focused on sport and leisure. Your own transport may be an advantage but is not essential. We are happy to show you around the region and tourist attractions.

This is a good time to be on farm as the work is different and interesting.

We are currently seeding paddocks, mating cows using artificial insemination, marking lambs and having lots of bonfires.

Other general farm work also includes livestock checks and movements, supplementary feeding and maintaining stock water, light maintenance and occasional home duties/gardening is ongoing throughout the year.

Guests are generally expected to help for 4 hours per day in exchange for meals, accommodation and our time taken to provide you with a genuine experience. We are flexible regarding type of work and hours. Generally most helpers tend to choose to just join in do as we do.

PAID WORK IS AVAILABLE FOR HOURS WORKED OVER AND ABOVE YOUR HELPX HOURS. The type of work will be determined by your willingness and skills in the first two weeks Helpx hours.

We will involve you as much as possible in all activities to give you a genuine hands on experience. You will need some boots, a hat and some old work clothes for around the farm.

You don't need to have worked on a farm before but naturally exposure to farm / outdoor work is a benefit as it will allow you to be more independent.

Your accommodation is fully refurbished, heated, air-conditioned and next to the homestead, There are bathroom facilities and 2 bedrooms (one with queen-size double bed and 2 single bunks). You will be expected to keep your place clean and tidy. No smoking or pets are allowed inside.

We consider you as part of the family during your stay. You are most welcome in the main home any time. All meals and drinks are with the family and everyone helps. I love cooking and would like to share recipes and learn new dishes if you like to cook too.

Our recent guest "Docc" was with us since early February has moved on to the big red centre.

We are looking for helpers for June and July.

We look forward to hearing from you soon!!!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use