Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 27774
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year:
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27774
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 22, 2018

***We would love to have some helpers starting in July, no availability until then.

We are a young couple with 2 kids (Bodhi 4, Jack 3) and one more on the way! We just moved into our own home in Mackay, a gorgeous area within the Whitsunday region There's plenty to see and do around here if you enjoy the outdoors. The city itself is big, but not too big. It has all the shops you could possibly want, but still has a laid back queensland country town feel. It really is a great place to settle in to and does have a great backpacker scene throughout the year!

We love to get out as often as possible with the kids to visit to visit the regions many splendours ! Our home is very central to town, so very convenient if you don't have your own car. We will be able to transport you around as often as we can, and look forward to touring you around the area to show you the sights over the weekends and as often as we can.

I myself have been a helper all over Australia for 2 years (I'm a Canadian, eh), but since snagging me this wiley aussie have decided to "settle down" and start planting some roots of my own. We are both fairly well traveled and love the company of fellow travelers. Since I have been lucky enough to have the opportunity to share homes with so many wonderful families throughout my travels, both myself and Lachlan are excited to return the hospitality I've been shown, not to mention play tour guides around the hidden gems this area of queensland has to offer.

As far as the help needed goes, we would only need help with basic duties around the house and in the yard. We would ideally love someone with a passion for kids or cooking. We also have a big and loveable dog who would looove to go out for more walks! We'd be very flexible with the total hours of help throughout the week in exchange for food and accommodation. If you'd like to put more time in some days and have a few days off on the weekend for example, that wouldn't be a problem. There's a baby on the way (yay!) and since Lachlan is often working away from home it would really just be nice to have an extra hand with the daily hum drummings and of course plenty of time to do whatever strikes your fancy!

As a helper, you would have your own room within the house. The house itself is fairly big, and you will have your room with your own bathroom downstairs. We have unlimited wifi throughout the house. If you have a car, that would be ideal so that you can make trips anywhere anytime you like, otherwise we live very central to everything in town. The main shopping centre is within walking distance, and there is a bus service to get you around town.

We're both really open to all kinds of characters from all walks of life, as long as you can understand that there will be a baby. If you have any experience with kids that would obviously be a huge help!

Please get in touch if you're interested and think we might be a good fit. Look forward to hearing from you!

Emma and Lachlan

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use