Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 2785
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 2785
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 3, 2013

We are an english family who have been living in france since 1991.

We have recently opened a Cattery for 10 cats. This is proving to be busy. So anyone with a love of cats would be most welcome as cats need 'pampering' when they stay here.

We are looking for a 'long' term stay person as we have some large project that need doing apart from the day to day running of our smallholding.As we also work life is very busy and we need a good pair of extra hands!! Jobs to be done clearing some land, re-building a barn and stable.General maintenance. Looking after the animals. We have quad,trailers etc for removing stone walls,earth etc. We are looking for someone with experience preferable although there is quite a bit of general muscle work...

We have horses that always need attention and are a part of our lives.Our son and his girlfriend are members of the local hunt and most weekends are out on their horses somewhere in the Poitou Charente.

Apart from the horses we have pigs,sheep and poultry.

Our family all live locally,and are living with french partners we also have 4 wonderful french grandchildren!!who are now old enough to correct our french!!! Our Daughter and son in law are part of the local motor bike club and they both ride Harley Davidson so if you are a 'biker' there are meets most weekends.

Our property is not far from the nearest town of Ruffec but hidden away in a very quiet hamlet of 4 houses. we are surrounded by our own land, which is 500mtrs from the river Charente. We are not marked in the correct place on the map, but should be above at the place marked LAVAUD next to the river.
The accomodation is in a self contained cottage next to our house.You have you own bedroom,linen provided shower and kitchen Internet connection.We always include our helpers in our family life with family meals around the table, although I do like the odd night off from cooking..

We expect people to work 5 hour day 5 days week, but all times flexible.As the weather plays a big part in this !!
You should have a good sense of Humour, common sense, be able to work independent and be enthusiastic!!
We do not want anyone moaning about weather conditions too hot or too cold or wet, you take what is thrown within reason, life has to go on...
The winter months can be cold and wet and the summers hot and dry... so be prepared for the worst.
The nearest station is Ruffec 16. with limited trains. Nearest airport Poitiers and Limoges.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use