help exchange   Host 27861
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Oliveira do Hospital
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 or more
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 27861
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 16, 2019

We are a couple in our late 30ís/early 40ís living in Central Portugal on a four acre farm. We have been here for six years producing our own meat, growing our own vegetables and trying to do everything as naturally and chemically free as we can, all off grid.

With spring on the way there is lots to be done here including the general day to day work of the animals and the vegetable patch. There are trees to be felled and wood to be chopped to prepare for the following winter, land to be cleared, fencing to be erected, general land maintenance and new trees to be planted. Also some bigger projects to hopefully achieve in the next few months of roofing the granite house, rebuilding a terrace wall and digging a new pond.
There is always lots of day to day stuff to done here and hopefully we can make the days as varied as possible whilst hopefully learning new things from each other!
We have a yurt to stay in and an outdoor but undercover fully equipped kitchen and bbq area to use. There is a composting toilet, solar shower and wood fired bath to use.
With all the work going on and with me (Pam) working online in the week I give people money for food instead of cooking for everyone as I donít always have the time. We can offer 25 euros per person a week for food in exchange for four to five hours a day/five days a week. We tend to work Mon-Fri because of my work. Of course there will be lots of opportunity for cooking and eating together as well.
We live in a small village with a good restaurant, cafť and local shop. Bigger supermarkets are about 20 minutes away.
I think thatís everything but please just email me with any questions.
Hope to meet you soon!
Pam and Rob

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use