help exchange   Host 27919
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: May - October
Area (ha): 2.12
Persons: 5
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 27919
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 1, 2020

***Currently I have 1 helper (Female)until 18th Sept and room for either 2 single people or 2 couples***
About me..
I live on and work on my 5.25 acres of land and require help maintaining and developing various projects. My place is quite remote, with no facilities nearby. There is one bus on Fridays which goes to Tavistock. I go out a few times a week where you could join me or hitch a lift to do your own thing. On Monday and Tuesday I go to board-game nights in Plymouth and Exeter and Sundays I usually go hiking with the Ramblers.
The land..
In the garden I grow a variety fruit and vegetables such as blueberries, courgettes, artichokes peas and squash to name a few. I also have a newly planted orchard leading onto a more long term project where I intend to create a lake or two for fishing.
I have a small campsite (5 Pitches) from which there are beautiful views of the surrounding area. Eventually there will be a compostable toilet.
What's involved..
I am flexible when it comes to work and hours, typically:
For accommodation only: 3 days work (12 hours, 4 hours a day 09:00-13:00) on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday
Accommodation and food allowance (21pw): 4 days work (18 hours, 4 hours a day 09:00-13:00) Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday plus another 2 hours to be fit in wherever is best.
Please let me know when you make contact what your preference is. If you would like to swap hours or days, it should be fine.
There is always clearing weeds and various seasonal jobs like potting and planting to be done along with some of the bigger projects. I am open to new ideas and if there is something in particular that you enjoy working on or would like to achieve or learn, I will always try to accommodate.
Accommodation is in basic old caravans, there electricity in these but no facilities except for a cassette toilet which may be used at night as the toilet and shower are in external buildings. There is a small communal lounge with a large DVD collection, selection of board games, a well equipped kitchen for your use (cook for yourself) and an outdoor terrace with a table, benches and a gas BBQ.
If you are interested, please contact me and let me know what type of work you would like to do and when you are available. Also let me know if you have any particular skills you think would be of use.
Non-smokers only please.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use