Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 28045
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Wattle Flat
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 160
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28045
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 10, 2015

We are a family owned and operated 400 acre farm located between Myponga and Yankalilla on the Fleurieu Peninsula, 1 hour south of Adelaide near both Victor Harbor and the McLaren Vale wine region of SA. We are a young couple with three small children aged 7, 5 & 3 so are quite busy keeping up with farm work, children and a small business.

We farm cattle, sheep and pigs and also process our animals on-farm. We hope to add chicken and duck production soon too!

We offer on-farm accommodation in the form of a spare bedroom within our house. As there is only 1 queen sized bed within this room, we prefer couples rather than singles apply. Use of a private bathroom attached to the back of the main house and all meals/meal provisions are provided in exchange for 5 hours of work per day. Internet within reason is also included.

Work would consist of farming related duties with the possibility of additional responsibilities within the office or boning/butchering room for individuals with appropriate skills.

Main responsibilities would include:
- cutting firewood
- planting, weeding, fertilising veggie patch and house gardens
- Tending to chickens, ducks and geese
- Tending to pigs
- tractor work; feeding sheep & cows
- fencing
- weeding/mowing/general gardening
- pest control
- organising and cleaning work sheds
- feeding work dogs and cleaning out kennels
- cleaning troughs
- painting
- Assistance at farmers markets
- general homestead maintenance

We live in a regional area, within 10 minutes from a small township and 1 hour south of Adelaide. We also live within 10 minutes of the beautiful coastline and beaches that surround Normanville and Carrickalinga. There is no public transport available in our region, therefore own transport is essential.

We hire on attitude rather than skill or experience, however an individual with handyman/building skills or existing farm experience such as tractor driving may be considered more highly. Ultimately we are seeking a couple who can work unsupervised, are trustworthy, reliable, creative, show initiative and are enjoyable to have on farm!

Please contact us for a full job description and application form.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use