Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 28148
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Adelaide
All Year: May
Area (ha): n/a
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 28148
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 27, 2018

Hello,

My name is Ros.
I live with my Husband - Kevin, a small dog and a some birds.

We are going to be on holiday from the 1st of May until the 18th of May. We are hoping to have a help X single or couple who can house sit for that period. You are welcome to stay before, after or both.

References and a copy of your passport and other identification will be required due to our absence.

BIRD ALERT : Swiz will jump on you, poo on you and gleefully screech in your ear at times.
This is her way of befriending people. If you have issues with birds on you or the occassional warm wet trickle running down your back - our house may not be for you. We can provide spare tops to wear as "bird shirts". I cannot emphasize enough that this is the birds home.

The inside birds are not caged. When we are home they are free flight. They do NOT bite unless quite upset or over excited and it is easy not to do that.
Our other birds are outside. Two cockatiels in the outside aviary and several released rescue birds and wild birds, used to being fed.

None of the other birds bother with other people unless they spend time talking and playing with them.

I suffer from bird fanciers lung. We still have a few birds inside some times under strict conditions. We have two HEPA fans on at all times, a hepa vacuum cleaner and neutralizing cleaners. I am not allergic to our lorikeet but wear a mask if near other rescue birds.
We have a Galah and Lorikeet living in the house. We have two other Cockateils living in an outside aviary.

We vacuum our house and wash the floors each day. That is to protect my lungs from any more bird protein (dander and faeces) allergy. You may not need to be so thorough every day while we are away. You will, however, need to do a very thorough clean the day before we return.

Below is general Help X information. It would only apply to you if you are having a longer stay. For our holiday period - food will be provided but you will need to prepare it yourself.

The only work requirements will be general housekeeping and animal sitting duties.

Hoůrs would generally be 4 hours per day with two days off per week. Some people have preferred to work 6 hour days with more days off. All general food and drinks are provided. We do our best to treat people like part of the family. In the evenings we relax, watching our fávourite TV programs. We have a new little tv in the spare room. It has google chrome for our Netflix & YouTube. We will have a new DVD player soon. We have lots of science fiction and several other movies. We do have wifi and you can use our main computer.

There will be some general housework such as vacuuming and mopping the whole house each day. It takes me about an hour and a half. There will also be some jobs that require cleaning up after our birds.

We are looking for some one with handy person experience to do painting, gardening, fixing things. We have some tools but I am unable to do things due to injuries/illness (arthritis etc..).

There are also jobs that unskilled Help X people can do such as gardening, housework, cleaning dors, cupboards, outside areas etc...

We are also looking for a person or couple to house sit for us sometimes. You would need to be accustomed to the birds first.

Jobs would be feeding, interacting with and looking after our rescue birds two of whom are companion birds and need some daily time and interaction (companionship). These are a galah and a Rainbow Lorikeet). This would have to be daily but only for a few hours a day.
We would like a reference or at least a copy of your passport if you are to house

We do our best to buy and be natural. We are a laid back, happy couple. Our spare room is small but comfortable, ideal for people who would like to spend most of their spare time exploring. I am a vegetarian and my husband eats meat so we can cater for either but have a moral stance on not having pig, pork, bacon in our house.
Smokers are fine but must smoke outside.



Ros and Kev

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use