Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 28219
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes
Area (ha): home farm 135ha /other182
Persons: 2 only
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28219
Region: Hawkes Bay

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 25, 2017

We have a dairy farm in a very beautiful part of Central Hawkes Bay which has up to 360 cows (in the peak) milked daily. We also have another farm approx. 2km away with great views which supports younger stock and where we also graze other farmers cattle. On our home farm we also keep horses as they are our hobby. Mike and I do a lot of trekking on them and general hacking about. We are surrounded by rolling countryside and a river which has trout, borders our farm. There are great tramping tracks around here and also mountain-bike trails.

We employ 3 staff, 2 of whom look after the cows with Mike's support and the other member takes care of the support farm.

We have accommodation within our home and if you are clean and tidy, then you are most welcome.

We are looking for folk who are hands-on, practical and willing to try their hand at milking cows. If you are a 'self-starter' then excellent.

You would be expected to do a little gardening and help with the housework at 30 hours work per week and we would prefer a 2 week minimum stay. We often have people to do a little extra during the week so they can have the weekend off at their leisure.

Only applicants who are competent riders,and have experience working with young 'green' horses should apply as we would like the horses to be ridden when we cannot. We belong to a riding club and go places that the general public would not have access to.

We will feed you well however all other refreshments e.g. alcohol would be at your expense. If you can cook that would be all the better. We have WiFi. English speaking helpers would be preferred but we are open to helping those who cannot.

Non-smokers only please!

We are not vegetarians but if you are then you are welcome to come show us a few recipes.

I am Maori but my husband is not and if you would like to learn a bit about my culture I would be delighted to share with you all that I know. We have traveled extensively throughout the world and look forward to meeting you.

We live 26km from the nearest town however there is a village 10km down the road and we are often in town for our business. If you have access to a vehicle that would be preferred however it is not a requirement as we are happy to uplift you from your bus trip.

We look forward to your enquiry.

Hinerangi van der Burg

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use