Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 28414
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2 (if a couple)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 28414
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 27, 2014

We are a friendly Franco-Australian family living on six acres of land on the beautiful Tinderbox Peninsula in southern Tasmania, five minutes from a Blackmans Bay (a suburb of Hobart) and twenty minutes from the centre of Hobart. Right now we are looking for a helper (or helper couple) to help us out with the kids over the next six weeks until mid-Oct while enjoying a cultural exchange and discovering beautiful Tasmania.

Hobart is a small and beautiful town with many attractions, but it is not for those who are looking for nightlife and shopping. To make the most of an experience with us, you need to be adventurous, love the outdoors and nature, be creative and self-sufficient, and like animals. On our property we have six sheep, eleven chickens and a rooster, and a lively Australian Kelpie dog. We also have a lot of bush, full of possums, wallabies, parrots and other native birds and animals. We have a beautiful view over the Derwent River and are close to several beaches (though please note that Tasmania's weather is cooler than much of Australia). We have two young children, Luc (4) and Isabelle (3), who are loving and active. They are at school and Childcare three days a week but need to be looked after in the afternoons after school and on the other two days. We would love some help from someone who loves and has experience with children. We would welcome an enthusiastic, reliable
person with a drivers' licence and experience driving a manual car. We are looking for someone willing to contribute four to six hours a day of work in return for full bed and board (accommodation in a pleasant double room) and use of the internet. We would also want you to be a genuinely enthusiastic and courteous part of our family - ie. help us out in the kitchen when we're all cooking together, clean up after yourself and not consider these part of your "work". In return, we would love to include you in our family activities, show you some of the sights of Tasmania etc. Please note that we speak both English and French at home, but itís no problem if you donít speak either of these languages Ė we are bilingual. If you think you would be the right match for our family, please donít hesitate to get in touch.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use