Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 28449
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1, or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28449
Region: Waikato

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 19, 2014

Welcome to Si and Paul's place!

We are looking for helpers at least 22 years old.

We live on the coast south of Raglan nested within a large farm. We have large vege-gardens, growing fruit-trees and shelter and the property leads down onto the beach.

We are gay / queer but straight friendly... ;-)

We look out across the ocean, across the Aotea and Kawhia harbour entrances and down towards Mt Taranaki, infront of us stands Mt Karioi.

The house is beautiful but a work in progress (so building skills always valued), an outdoor fire/bush bath, and outdoor garden shower aswell as indoors, composting toilet, house powered by PV/Solar, sound-system and well stocked book-shelves. We have cattle, a sheep, and two dogs.

Weekends are the preference as we both work away during the week, and we can negotiate from there if you want to stay longer.

I may not always have time to show you around, as I am usually busy working away but you will enjoy the area's natural beauty. There is wild coastline nearby, you can walk there from the house, almost no people around here. Bushwalking, tramping, cycling, hitchhiking, you can do a lot here. There is a CD/DVD collection, good wifi internet but some phones get limited mobile reception.

I am happy to welcome fellow travellers into my home! I like people that are peaceful travellers through life. My Philosophy: It's nice to be nice. Live and let all others live. Recycle. Live simply and well.

You will be asked to work up to 3-4 hours per day in exchange for food, and accommodation. Work time is flexible. I would appreciate some help with house, and garden maintenance. If you like to cook, you are especially welcome. Cooking can be part of your 4 hour duties.

Handy people (with skills)... also welcome.
Like building a studio, cleaning a shed, if you are good at organizing, and decluttering welcome. There are lots of ongoing projects on the land.

Please come and stay for 2 nights (to start), and if you're happy you can stay longer. All diets welcome. We are not vegetarian but welcome you if you are. No children. Smoking outdoors. Peaceful & relaxing environment, quiet road. Easy going lifestyle.

Simon works with multi-copters, and is plugged in with the Raglan scene, so there is regularly music and dj's, etc. to see in town.

Paul is a zero-waste recycling educator.

We have a couch, a double mattress to go on the floor (very comfortable).

I can pick you up from Raglan ideally on Fridays.

Email only please. See you soon :) - Simon

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use