help exchange   Host 28514
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Värmlands Nysäter
All Year: April - September
Area (ha): 17
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28514
Country: Sweden

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 25, 2015

We are full for this summer.
We are a small family consisting of two adults and an eleven year old boy, that lives and works on a farm in the beautiful nature of Värmland. When we bought the farm in 2011, it had been rented out for years and the land was only used for the grass. A part of the land has now been transformed into a vegetable garden and we have also used a part for planting an orchard with various types of fruit trees. But there still remains a lot to be cultivated. On the farm live also 4 cats and we have chickens, ducks, bees and a lot of rabbits.

Our aim is to build a self sufficient farm and we use the ideas and design of Permaculture to achieve this. Besides the work on the farm, do we also try to be active in our community. We are a couple from Holland, consider ourselves as internationals. We speak Dutch, Swedish, English and a little German. We love nature, a simple lifestyle, good conversations, and most of all: getting things done. We try to avoid watches and clocks and follow our own rhythm.
We welcome, at this moment, 1 or 2 wwoofer(s) at a time in a stuga (is a type of cabin) or tent. You can sparsely use the shower in our house and you have your own composting toilet close to the stuga (we have swimming ponds). You can also use the wireless internet connection. We prefer a minimal stay of one week, and longer if it works out well. We invite people who appreciate a simple, basic lifestyle, who like the calm and beautiful nature and want to do some practical physical work. We have a wide variety of jobs you can help us with depending on the weather and season. Many of them in the garden of course, but we have also some building projects and forest work. We don't look for help inside our house to be clear.

This year (2015) we plan to start renting out mountain bikes see, build fences, storage room, some Warré hives and an earth cellar for example. We plan to grow more vegetables for our CSA and plant trees and bushes. You can also help us with making hay, the old fashioned way, painting, planting plants, build and a lot of other things.

A normal workweek for a wwoofer consists of 6 hours a day, 5 or 6 days a week, depending more or less on the weather, plans and jobs (it counts up to 8 hours with the breaks we have). After the work is done, it is time to relax.
You can use our bikes if available, go fishing, horseback riding (from a farm in the neighborhood), walk in the beautiful surrounding, go for a swim in our ponds or lake (4 km) and a lot more. There is a little town nearby (5 km) which has a café, a supermarket and a Viking museum. You are of course welcome to join us on our day trips.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use