Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 28609
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes but not continuiously
Area (ha): 5.6
Persons: couple/2 friends
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 28609
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 21, 2018

We are a busy family of six, with 2 children at home (aged 14 and 16 years) and two away. We enjoy raising a few animals and grow fruit and veggies for the table.. We also have Boots and Toby the dogs, Squeak the cat, chickens, Florrie the goat, Charlie the pony and the cows and sheep .. all friendly and sociable.

We live in a large original Wairarapa homestead, dating back to 1898. With a gorgeous view of the Tararuas and the Wairarapa Valley.
We are just a hop and a skip into Masterton ( 6kms) and happy to collect from the train or bus station.

Accommodation :
We would love to welcome you into our family, and have you join us in our farmhouse kitchen for wholesome, often home grown meals.
We are can accommodate most diets, everything from vegan to home grown meat !! We are also keen to try new recipes and you are welcome to cook your favorite meals or enjoy some of ours.

You will have a double bedroom with en suite bathroom, separate toilet and extremely large separate lounge with tv, books, games and cosy log burner, for when you wish to escape family life !
Wi fi ( for email, facebook ) and most Sky channels are available.

Two friends ?..We can make up another bedroom if you prefer not to share a room !

In return we would like you to help out for 4-5 hours per day.( Some hours in the morning and help around the evening meal). We are fairly flexible so you can arrange your day to allow for exploring the area.

Sort of help required :

After a busy year off the farm things are in a bit of a muddle :)

At the moment we would love help digging up the veggie garden and trimming the hedges and sorting out the animals, Charlie could do with a groom : )

Also help to collect pine cones,stacking fire wood, feed animals, chickens and sometimes children, planting trees, light pruning of shrubs and small trees.

House maintenance jobs include, clearing gutters, washing windows, helping tidy up the barn and out buildings...we have a wee cottage we would like to restore sometime : )

Indoor jobs include helping with the household jobs, baking, Jam making, re organising rooms, painting furniture maybe a bit of decorating !

There's heaps to do so will match tasks to your interests where possible. If you like to take pride in a job well done and want to make a big difference ...we are the hosts to help :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use