Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 2885
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.5
Persons: 1-2 (couple OK)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 2885
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 24, 2015

Offering most meals & separate accommodation on a quiet 3 acres 7km out of Cooktown in exchange for work to equivalent of 4 hours per day including some child supervision. Family of 2 working adults ( 46 & a young 51!) & 3 children(15 yr old lives away for school, Boy 14 & 9 yr old girl are at home & go to school in Cooktown) Jobs include caring for horses & dogs, cooking, some gardening & house keeping. There are plenty of opportunities for free time in the local area, and go on some tours, particularly if you are interested in Aboriginal Culture and Art. Internet access available at house & in town, mobile reception for Telstra only .Enjoy bush walks by the lagoon, fishing at the wharf or on the river, reading and exploring the local areas sites & attractions.

We'd love someone to assist over October- Dec, particularly end October to end November.
Our family also includes 5 dogs,2 horses and a foal, plus we occasionally care for some sick or injured wildlife.
Some house packing and sorting will be done
so will need help with that as well as expanding our low maintenance garden.
Mother has some short trips away from the home for work with the local Council.
We all enjoy going to the beach,horse riding, fishing, camping and showing visitors our beautiful area.

Cooktown is the ideal base for exploring Cape York Peninsula too.

We are happy to host a single person/ couple to assist our family & enjoy a quiet location in beautiful far north Queensland. We're very close to Keatings Lagoon conservation park.

Basic English is fine as we're keen to learn other languages too!

We are happy to host for as little as 1-2 weeks, preferably longer if possible - some of our visitors have ended up staying for 2-3 months or more because they loved Cooktown so much and some with work visas have been able to get some casual work in town!
Our children really enjoy meeting new people and learning about other countries, lifestyles, food and languages, as well as sharing their love of this area too. Please contact us by email - we hope to see you soon!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use