Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 2943
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4 hectares
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2943
Region: Hawkes Bay

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 22, 2012

We own and operate an orchard growing and selling oranges, mandarins, lemons, limes,and tamarillos.
4-6 hours daily work for accommodation and food, the rest of day free to explore and go adventuring.
We encourage people to go out and see the beautiful areas that we have around us, not sit around watching TV and staying inside.
We do not appreciate people who sit around drinking and smoking leaving the mess for us to clean up. Clean, tidy non smokers please that includes dope.
We share crop most of our bees hives with a commercial Bee Keeper but have a few hives in the orchard and we harvest, spin and package our own honey to sell in the markets.
We have totally free range organic fowls and ducks and sell the eggs at the markets also.
The ducks and roosters are sold locally and all their food we buy in bulk whole and make up ourselves.
We have started raising day old chicks rearing them to sell on as they grow and to restock our own free range stock.They have to be kept warm, dry and looked after very carefully for the first 6 weeks then we gradually put them outside as they get older and more independent.If we are lucky we may find a clucky hen and give them to her to rear which cuts the work load down.
We raise ducklings to sell and there are ducklings everywhere at present.
Graham drives a school bus Monday to Thursday and travels down to Fielding very early on Friday for a market in the morning then on to Wellington to 2 markets on Saturday and comes home on Sunday. He is away 3 days a week.
We are an older couple and any help would be gratefully received but we do prefer more mature people who can work and think independently if the situation arises, and people who have had experience, or are willing to learn especially with the animals and birds. We do hand rear baby birds at times and it is very time consuming and takes patience and care.
Looking after and feeding the animals is nearly a fulltime job on it's own and feeding and watering takes time and patience. We do not appreciate taking the time to explain what to do only to have it done another way... the wrong way .... so we have to go back and do it ourselves.This takes time and energy and is not at all helpful.
We have 2 cockatoos, 14 budgies, 3 rainbow lorikeets,5 dogs and 4 cats,4 flemish giant rabbits,and 2 lots of kits at pesent and 2 magpies Maggie who has been with us since she was a few weeks old, and Greedy who was given to us after the school holidays when the children who found him had to go back to Wellington and couldn't take him with them.
We work 7 days a week and get tired but also have a lot of laughs and life is never dull. There is always something to do.
We have mandarins and oranges to to pick in season, shelter belts to cut down and clear away, gardening, pruning, housework, chicken coops to build and general clearing up and maintenance.
Some jobs are mundane,dirty and hard work..if that dosen't sound like you please don't come it just stresses us out and is not helpful to anyone.
Annie has health problems suffers from chronic fatigue and pain, and gets,tired,and grumpy but we have managed really well with the help of some wonderful people. We have made some great friends.
Internet access 5 minutes away at the local Library or the I Site.Please take note of this our computer has been locked by the man who services it because others have abused the privilege and we have had to pay for repairs.
Vegetarians OK but we need to be informed when you make contact..... no fussy eaters please!!! Please email if you are interested. We would love to hear from you and meet you. Cheers Annie and Graham

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use