help exchange   Host 2947
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 850
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2947
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 29, 2014

We are looking for people who will enjoy living in our unique remote rural community. We live 1 hour inland from Methven township, amongst some of New Zealand's most beautiful scenery.
At Glenariffe we run a flock of merino sheep, some crossbred types of sheep and a herd of beef cattle.
Belinda runs a small horse training and breeding yard. We are looking for someone to help mainly in the horse yard with general tasks - mucking out, gardening, grooming, cleaning and horse work depending on experience. There will also be sheep work during busy times on the farm - tailing, weaning etc. The only gear you will need is a sturdy set of footwear (all tools/safety gear is provided)
Mark is a very keen skier and spends a lot of time at a club skifield during the winter with Belinda and the horsefloat heading out to shows during the summer months. We are looking for people who want to work hard and play lots.
Mark's parents (Alastair and Prue) also live on the farm. There are some days that you will be asked to help them. Alastair has a small aeroplane that he is always looking to get out of the hangar, provided you have helped to a satisfactory level!
We have a fully self contained unit separate from the house with cooking facilities, television etc. We provide all food, but sometimes you will be asked to prepare your own dinner/lunch in your unit. Breakfast materials are provided for you in unit.
There will be plenty of days for you explore our community. Some activities that are on the property or near by and can be arranged; Snow ski-ing, walking, hunting (Rabbits/Possums/Deer/Chamois/Thar), Helicopter at the neighbours, Clay bird shooting
Some general ground rules
1. Please ask if you have a problem or question as we both endeavor to make your stay pleasant for both you and us.
2. Please be out of our house by 8:30 at night. We need our privacy as well.
3. Please do not feed any of the dogs (especially Amber the fat labrador)
4. Work generally starts between 8:00 and 8:30am
5. Please do not apply if you are not fluent in English as we do not have time to teach.
6. Couples suit us better as we do not feel we have to entertain you everyday! However single independent people are welcome (unsuitable for young people just off mummy's tit)
7. Belinda does most of the cooking (but is more than happy for people to do this!) and it would be appreciated if you could help with dishes etc.

If you think this is for you please email us.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use