Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 29542
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 29542
Region: East Coast

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 14, 2017

Child friendly helpful housemate/handyperson wanted in Sunny Gisborne
Must be a non smoker.
Ability to eat food that's provided a must!
Please contact via phone/text first as I'm not online much.

We are a busy family of six, with four small children all under 6 years - and we would like someone who can retain a sense of humour in occasionally stressful though often humourous (especially in retrospect) situations.

We live in Gisborne rurally on a small 1ha lemon, mandarin and feijoa orchard within cycling distance to town (flat)(approx 9km). (Bicycle and helmet provided).

We are looking for a practically minded, hard working, person/couple who is happy to take the initiative to make sure things get done about the house/orchard as it can get very busy.

Importantly, as part of living in the house, you will be asked to complete general household chores and assist with child wrangling/meal prep/cleaning at mad times.

We would like someone who is happy with living with a family, helping with light housework and being around four busy children.

In addition to this - we need someone to keep the orchard and garden under control. This includes picking fruit use of a lawnmower, ride on lawnmower, weedeater and hand tools if you are keen.

We would like someone who can stay at least one week. Longer if you enjoy it and fit in ;)

A sense of humour is a must - there are small children and a lot of poos, wees and baby spills, along with jokes about it. It also helps if you can laugh at the futility of cleaning up with toddlers in the house - like tidying a desk of paper with the fan on!

Our best Help-X er worked full time and assisted in the evening and we would consider this also - it has worked wonderfully for us.

There are lots of things to see and do around Gisborne, and if you are keen on the beach, surfing, paddling etc there are lots of opportunities for this
We are also close to Wairoa, the outdoor capital of NZ and

You would have your own bedroom with a shared bathroom (make sure you shut the door or there may be surprise visitors!).

WiFi internet is available if you use it sociably and not during the day when looking after the children.

We try to make the stay special for our wonderful helpers even though we are a young family who don't travel well

We enjoy hunting and eat a lot of meat, however, vegetarians who are sympathetic to meat eaters will be accommodated :)

We eat essentially Paleo (not big on dogma, it's just what works for our food intolerant kids) with some limitations.

We need someone who is willing to join in and become a part of our family.
Questions welcome
Please send enquiries with a CV and references.
Pay: accommodation and board

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use