Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 29580
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Summer and autumn
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 29580
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 5, 2017

LOOKING FOR A COUPLE or a SINGLE PERSON to housekeep for a minimum of 2 weeks stay!

We have an individual household in a traditional but not-so-typical romanian village, with a quite established permaculture garden -not much is planted this year though- and a small plum orchard that turned into a wild and very diverse food forest.

We have a (wild-ish) cat that misses human touch.

I lived in Stanciova for 6 years but at the beginning of the year I moved in Timisoara and Lugoj (the closest larger cities nearby) with my partner and 2 year old child. Some days I come to Stanciova because my workshop is there and it still needs some details taken care of. In the workshop i make soap and other care products + have my printing supplies for my designer work.

The help required is easy: watering the garden, weeding, keeping vegetation in check, feeding the cat. Basically maintenence work. The toilet is a compost toilet and needs to be emptied when neccesary. Basically maximum 2h of work/day is enough. We cannot offer food except for what you can harvest/forage in the garden but staples are super cheap in the village shop and we can connect you to local dairy and egg producers for nice organic produce. Nearest town with a bank and a supermarket is 12 km away.

If it is possible i would ask for more specific help around the household (building a solar shower, fixing some roofs) and i will supply food in exchange for that.

Accomodation is in a small but very cosy and well isolated room with a nice view, an elevated double bed, in the same yard as the main house where the kitchen and toilet is. The main house has two other living rooms that are private (toys and personal stuff are around waiting for us to arrive). There is also a very nice porch to hang out during the day/evenings, crickets and frogs are the best music, and there are not many places close to civilisation where you can see a night sky as beautiful as in Stanciova .

Internet and warm showers can be accessed three times a week at our lovely neighbour and friend, also a helpx host.
There is running water in the kitchen and we have an instant electric heater for water and a hose of water outside.

The forest is 20 minutes away and the biodiversity in the area is quite rich given that the village is only 45 minutes from a major city in romania (Timisoara).

There are a couple of other english speaking, open-minded, ecologically-driven people in the village. During the summer our neighbours are often around (a family of 3 who are very nice but need their rest since they work in the city)

Interested? I'm looking forward to hear from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use