Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 30048
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.21
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 30048
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 24, 2017

Hello helpxers..... : ) We are looking for some help with a building project from around the 20th August. Any takers?

After helpxing ourselves for a year we came back to Cornwall and bought 3 acres of riverside swampiness just outside Truro. Since we got here we have been creating veg patches and repairing the old barn that was here so we have somewhere dry to sit! We have also begun a new oak framed barn as a long term project (maybe to be a house some day...)

The land and what we need help with...
On the land there are also fruit trees, ancient Cornish hedges, broadleaf woodland and wildy willow wetland areas. We would love help in any of the following areas . . . . .. veg garden (we grow organically and are guided by permaculture principles), weeding (always!) creating pathways through the woods and on the little islands by the river, making lovely little seating areas in the woods, repairing our 'tea room' which is a gorgeous back end of some old truck that needs TLC, creating a pond, building boardwalks, making land wines, willow spilling the river bank, any help with the big barn would be awesome! This summer we may be starting a treehouse project. To a certain extent we are flexible and will be guided by what your into/up for.

The details . . .
Accommodation will be in a caravan or in 'The Tea Room' an old army truck. Each has a double bed and electricity but no running water. The nearest water tap is close though. The only toilet facilities are the compost loo which is the cute little structure in the photos. It's a bit shabby too but is clean and functional. Any thatchers out there??? There is also a small communal caravan where there is a gas shower (about 4 minutes of tepid water, you've got to move fast) and there is wifi there also.

Us . . . .
Dave works for a local charity so is mostly only around at weekends for land based larks so you would be hanging out with me Alex for the majority of your stay. I'm a self employed massage therapist who works random hours . . . Occasionally you may need to be here on your own for a few hours. And there's Lexi our hound.

Work hours and food..
We would ideally like 4 to 5 hours a day, 5 days a week help and people to stay for between 1 and 3 weeks.We dont host people longer than one month. Most work is outside so come prepared for a Cornish summer eg waterproofs : ) We provide you with vegetarian breakfast, lunch and dinner (very very occasionally we eat meat, sometimes from the local phesant hunter). We drink and smoke but we cant provide tobacco and alcohol for helpers... Sorry, its just too expensive!!

Surrounding area . . .
We are 3 miles from Truro for shops, train station, bars etc and 4 miles from some of the most stunning coast line in the world! North Coast cliffs, surf beaches and secluded coves are just a hop and a skip away.

Do call or email us with any questions you might have. It is very basic accommodation here but it's also very beautiful! Maybe see you soon . . . .

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use