help exchange   Host 30049
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


New Milton
All Year: NO
Area (ha): 167 Acres
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 30049
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 26, 2018

If you are someone who is never satisfied with the status quo, loves to innovate, free associate, create, invent, and just generally shake things up, you will love Sweet Wind Farm. If you have some time and energy to donate over the summer, Sweet Wind Farm will love you back.

In addition to the farming operation, I am currently finishing up construction of a commercial kitchen here on the farm, which will allow production of fully cooked and ready to eat menu items right from the farm. Kick-off is planned for around April 30, 2018.

Some of the things I've developed here are: Fodder production for rabbits, colonized (cage free) rabbit system, Fermented feed for broilers, broilers in rotational grazing yards, water capture, production of perennial medicinal plants for all livestock, vertical growing of vegs to supply chickens and rabbits, greenhouse growing, raised bed companion planting, and so much more...

I would prefer a capable female helper but would consider a single man after a thorough interview and solid references. My farm family consists of myself, a 54 year old female, my 19 year old daughter, 10 farm cats, a Great Pyrenees breeding trio, who are Bella Rose, Lady Helen, and Tonka who keep everyone safe and secure.

I started a pastured broiler operation 6 years ago following Joel Salatin's model and my journey has led me to constantly pursue integration, sustainability, conservation, and always innovative harnessing of naturally available resources.

The demand for my products has continued to expand exponentially and I am thrilled with each new customer and inquiry.

I have expanded into California meat rabbits and am working on grant funding for a project integrating rabbits and broilers in and around an earthship concept... go figure.

Our home is a spacious 2100sqft modern 1 level home and my helper will have a single bedroom to themselves as well as use of a full bathroom. The property is clean, quiet, beautiful, bordered by wooded hills and a creek. There is plenty of opportunity for hiking, nature observation, photography, wild foods gathering, quiet meditation, and general outdoor recreation as well as quiet downtime in the house- yes, there's central A/C and Internet, as well as a landline, but no cell service.

We are omnivores but are open to trying interesting, flavorful, vegetarian dishes.

I am looking for someone who will be comfortable and motivated to help with maintaining and improving my operations in resourceful and creative ways. You should be comfortable (or willing to quickly become comfortable) in a farm environment, with handling small livestock, hand and power tools, and "getting your hands dirty". Bring good boots, warm/cool protective clothing and work gloves :) We will get tired and dirty everyday and have a great time doing it.

I am focused on bio-diversity, sustainability, and permaculture, integrating all systems to create a healthy, productive farm. I need help with building and maintaining fencing, planting and maintaining the garden, caring for chickens, baby chicks, rabbits and baby bunnies, and various small building, organizing, creative projects, and some sales/marketing/advertising of my farm products.

My spring/summer/fall schedule is: feeding livestock, building and maintenance projects, and gardening in the mornings while still cool, communications, marketing, errands, and naps in the hotter afternoons, dinner/evening chores in whichever order works for that day, watch a movie and crash for the night. We have no cell service here, but do have a land line phone and high speed internet. No public television, just DVD movies from the local library and Netflix. We are 1/2 hour from the nearest small town and 1 hour from the nearest large town.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use