Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 30055
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Co Offaly
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1, 2, or 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 30055
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 12, 2014

Hello helpers Ė Iím a 48 year old man looking for help with painting and general work in and around the house. Itís an old farmhouse which Iíve renovated (itís now warm and comfortable) but Iím busy in a design office and it is hard to find the time to finish off painting windows, doors and stairs. If you are skilled at working with traditional lime plaster, some walls still need repair, so that would be a great bonus. Thereís plenty to do outside too if: repairs to potholes in the lane, clearing old slates from an outbuilding, taking ivy off walls, and excavating planting beds around the house etc. So there is a range of tasks to suit your interests, ability and the weather!
My home is in the countryside, about 3km from the village of Ferbane in the middle of Ireland. It is a quiet and relatively undiscovered part of the country with great local charm: Iím beside the river Brosna, and close to interesting places like Clonmacnoise monastery, Lough Boora Sculpture Park, Belmont Mill, the Slieve Bloom Mountains and Birr Castle.
You will have a room with a double bed and en-suite bathroom (more painting to be done there), or a smaller room with a double futon with an adjacent bathroom (yet more painting). Thereís use of bikes and if you enjoy rowing Ė or want to learn, thereís a row-boat too. A fishing rod is available if you want to fish. There are also pleasant local walks along the river and the Grand Canal. There is a bus (number 72) three times a day to Athlone which is the nearest transport hub for buses and trains. I will of course be available to bring you to the bus & train stations and local places.
Single person or couple welcome (LGBT friendly) and if you have a well- behaved dog, that is fine, but there is livestock in adjacent fields. Bring your hiking boots and good energy.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use