Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 30112
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April to November
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 30112
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 18, 2018

This is a homestay in Hampshire, surrounded by open countryside and with a large garden. Please note that this year, the only remaining opportunities for Helpxers are in October and November 2018. It would ideally suit someone who is open-minded and aged around 18 to 40.

My name`s Anthony; born in the UK in the 1950s I moved from London to Hampshire in October 2014. There is a variety of work to do here. When the weather is good enough we will be looking after the garden; clearing the weeds, tending the vegetable patch, building fences, chopping wood, cutting the grass, raking up the leaves, planting shrubs and trimming hedges. Inside the house there will be general cleaning and helping to prepare meals. Usually we would work as a team but it helps if you can self-motivate and work alone sometimes.

You have your own room and all meals provided, in return for just a few hours of work on five days a week; plenty of free time each day and days off to go to London or other places. I only have one room available for one Helpxer at a time (see photo below), so I cannot take couples or pairs of friends unless you`re travelling with a camper van. The room has a study area with a great view over the countryside.

The local village of Medstead is a typical English village with a church and a pub and a post office. It is close to the highest point in the county of Hampshire, with many good walks along a network of country footpaths. This is an open rural area, with a mixture of farmland and equestrian properties; there are horses grazing in the paddocks next to my house. There is a preserved railway line nearby, known as "The Watercress Line", with an old-style station, and steam locomotives running on many days of the year.

If English is not your first language then I do speak good Spanish and I can also understand a bit of French, Italian and Portuguese. Inside the house it`s no smoking. The food is mainly vegetarian but I am happy to cater for all dietary preferences so it`s no problem if you prefer meat. I am sociable and friendly and I am gay; some of my Helpxers are not gay, so it makes no difference to me, but this is not the place for anyone who is homophobic or narrow-minded.

I work on the house or garden most days but not from dawn until dusk, there has to be time for relaxation and food and tea-breaks. If you drink alcohol then maybe a beer or a glass of wine. If you know how to play the piano there is one here.

There is also Wi-Fi so if you have a laptop or a smartphone you can connect with no problem.

Being in a rural location there is hardly any public transport but I have a car and can provide transport to the nearby village and pub. I can meet you at (and take you to) the railway stations at either Basingstoke or Alton. From Alton to London it`s about one hour and ten minutes by train (a modern one, not steam powered!) Also: there is a bicycle you may use to explore the area. Happy to answer any questions not covered above :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use