Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 30263
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: June to October
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 30263
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 4, 2015

We live in a huge old stone barn set in a hectare of land in a tiny hamlet near La Tour Blanche, northern Dordogne. It serves as our home, timber-framing workshop, organic kitchen garden... and a very big building project!

We arrived from England in 2011. After a few years of knocking the place into some shape, things are more comfortable here and we can now welcome guests in late spring, summer and early autumn.

Louis is a green oak timber-framer by trade. His next big project is a frame for an eco-build house with straw-bale walls. Aside from jobs, Louis has been busy building the first floor structures inside the barn, the veranda and, last but certainly not least - your accommodation!

You will stay in a green oak timber-framed, one-room chalet with a splendid view of the rolling hills.

We have never had HelpX guests before so we can work out what feels best for everyone before you arrive, but here are some thoughts about how we see it working:

- We start with stays for one week (6 or 7 nights).
- We provide all meals, which we cook and eat together. If you'd prefer to eat some meals on your own we can be flexible. We are both keen (and apparently good) cooks so you should eat well most of the time!
- You could be helping with anything from building work and timber-framing to organic gardening and landscaping, according to what we need while you're here, what skills you have and what you'd like to do.
- You would be very welcome to join in any social occasions that we go along to, or if we invite friends round for food.

Some skills we would find really useful are:
- Carpentry and timber-framing
- Building work
- Organic and / or bio-dynamic gardening techniques
- Landscaping
- And if you have others, please let us know!

We are in a rural area of the Dordogne, about half an hour's drive from the nearest train stations (Angoulême for the TGV from Paris, and Périgueux). We are half an hour's walk or ten minutes by bike from the nearest village with shops and a bar. We're also very lucky to live near a co-operative café, which is a hub for local social and cultural activity.

You'll be free to spend evenings on the veranda, watching the sun go down with a glass or two of local wine, or to go out and explore. There are lovely little villages everywhere, beautiful rivers to swim in, crumbling old châteaux to visit, and lots of fantastic markets and events in the summer.

If you like the sound of all that, feel free to contact us to find out more...

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use