Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 30285
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Mount Perry
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 63 hectares/ 140 acres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 30285
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 17, 2016


I have a few properties in Mount Perry, which is in the North Burnett region of Qld. I'm in the process of establishing a sustainable and productive farm on my property "Arbor" (140 acres). Please note: I can only offer 4 - 5 days at a time. I will attempt to find another local placement if you want to stay in the area.

At the moment I can only offer camping to helpers. You will need to be self sufficient with your own tent/van with shower, toilet, water and power. We have no facilities here as we just live in the stables.

Also, I can't feed anyone at present (we just don't have the storage space for extra food), so if you want to come and camp here for free that is fine. I wouldn't expect you to work much, just a few little jobs like brushing the horses or feeding the pigs in exchange for the camping.

People who camp here must be strictly NON-SMOKERS! That means ALL types of smoking.

We have 2 dogs, 6 horses, and some free range pigs.

Arbor is a very beautiful property, with amazing views of the mountain ranges and rocky bluffs in the distance. There are 2 water holes, 3 dams and a couple of creeks and lots of lush pasture for the animals to graze on. I am conducting ecological restoration and there are lots of birds and some nice little mammals.

Working on Arbor is basically my fulltime job, whilst my husband works fulltime at a local mine.

Mount Perry is probably quite remote for what most people are used to but it would be a good "bush" experience for those keen to experience the "real Australia"

Mount Perry has a general store, a service station, a post office,an inn and a pub. There is no public transport.The closest bigger towns are Gin Gin (64km away), which is on the Bruce Highway and Bundaberg (110km away). Please use Google Earth or have a look at a map before you consider coming here.

If you have any special skills (whatever they are, especially if you can play the banjo!) please let me know. I love to learn new things:)

1. My quarter horse foal, Banjo
2. View across the paddock: mountain range covered in mist
3. The "Arbor Bar". A little hut under construction which we will eventually use as an outdoor kitchen. It has a wood stove/BBQ inside that my husband made from an old drum.
4. My quarter horse brood mare, Riss with the two cows, Helga and Gertie in the back ground.
5. Just another day at the office! The sunsets on Arbor never fail to amaze me.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use