help exchange   Host 30668
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.3
Persons: 1-2 (shared room)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 30668
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 19, 2014

Where we live:
We live in West Cornwall above the picturesque fishing villages of Mousehole and Newlyn, with beautiful Cornish beaches such as Sennen nearby. There are also stone circles, iron age villages and Celtic Holy Wells all nearby.

About us:
We are a family of four. Both adults work part time - Gill at The Eden Project, and Seamus as a doctor (GP). Isla is 7 and goes to school in Mousehole; Silvie is 2. We live in a recently renovated and extended old farm house - there is still lots to do which is why we need your help!
We have about 1/3 hectare of land on which we have a poly-tunnel, chickens, ducks, a guinea pig and a cat. Animals may increase or decrease depending on local fox appetites and random additions.

About you:
We need help with all aspects of looking after our home and garden. Tasks will include gardening, decorating & repair of house, cleaning out chickens, building tree houses and other general carpentry, child care and generally mucking in with the family.

In particular, at the moment we are renovating our vegetable bed and redecorating parts of the house.

We will expect you to do around 20 hours of work a week, as well as helping around meal times eg loading/unloading dishwasher, collecting salad, chopping veg, entertaining children etc.

You will be staying in our house in your own room which can accommodate 1 or 2 people. You will be sharing kitchen, bathroom etc. If you want, and weather is good, there is also the option of sleeping in our large bell tent in the garden. You would still have use of house; there is also a composting toilet in the garden.

We are looking for help for between 1 and 2 weeks at a time which can lead to longer stays if things go well and it fits in with our routine.

We will provide breakfast and evening meal. If we are in during the day and having lunch at home you will be welcome to share that too. We are happy to cater for a vegetarian diet. Due to being busy working and with our kids, any other dietary requirements may be beyond us but feel free to ask.

There may be opportunities to swim, surf, sail, cycle and certainly go for long walks whilst you are with us.

We have only recently joined HelpX, but have friends nearby who have been hosts for some time (ID 4234) and so are familiar with how it works. We hope that you will come and stay with us.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use