Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 30842
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.3
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 30842
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 5, 2014


All welcome, especially Italian, European and American/Canadian helpers. My mother is from Puglia and my dad is from Sicily.

All Welcome, as long as you are a cheerful person ;-) COUPLES very welcome!

Hello, I'm Toni ;-) Located one hour from Melbourne city, Kalorama is in the Dandenong ranges. If you are looking for a homestay experience in a quiet semi-rural mountain area, where for the most part you will work independently, this may be the place for you. Jobs to be done involve gardening, cooking, cleaning and outdoor work. For anyone who has handyman/woman skills there are also other small jobs. The home is set on a modest third of an acre block (NOT a farm). Buses are near for you to make your way around the Yarra ranges and Melbourne. The area is also a good place for the serious bike rider. Cheerful helpers welcome. I speak Italian, and welcome any Italian travellers. All ethnicities welcome! I will pick up from the station. Accommodation is one or 2 futon beds. Stays of 5 days - 2 weeks preferred. A night trip to the local bars can be organised for a quiet beer or wine- I'll join you ;-) if you like live music, there are many free bars in Melbourne and I can take you to visit.

My son and I look forward to meeting you and hearing your stories. I spent a few years travelling around Australia doing WOOFing in my younger years.

We have Internet access. We also have a wood fire for winter.

Unfortunately, I cannot help with any VISA extensions as my postcode is not in the area specified. This is unfortunate. Mi dispiace.

In the summer I make potpourri and I have plans to build an organic veggie garden. If you could help with my veggie garden I would be most grateful.

Things to do in this area: bush walking; William Rickets Sanctuary; national Rhododendron gardens; Alfred Nicholas gardens; Puff and Billy; scenic lookout to Melbourne; RJ Hamer Arboretum; Olinda falls, national parks - to name only a few. This is a place for people who like nature, but don't want to be too far out of Melbourne. I have a range of materials for your to view, which outline all the things to do in the area, including hiking and cycling.

We are clean and tidy, and I value music, arts, gardening, study and learning new things. I am a high school teacher and I do some abstract art. Anything for a laugh.

I work away from home in the day time, so you must be an independent and competent person. Must be able to cook (or follow a recipe ;-)

This is a remi-rural setting. It is in the mountains, but set in a suburban-type setting, with houses close by. There is a small shop/post office at the end of the street, but the next set of shops is a 10 minute drive away. There is a forest walk to Kalorama Park at the end of my street.

The best time to visit this area is spring, autumn and summer. Winter is also good, especially if you like wood fire and foggy nights in the mountains.

This is a touristy place, with many internationally recognised gardens and parks, and there is some night life (including music nights).

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use