Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 3089
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: nothing before April 2112
Area (ha): 4.00
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 3089
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 7, 2011

Our 18th Century farmhouse and 10 acre pasture are on the edge of Marais National Park, roughly halfway between Cherbourg and Caen, with the historic towns of Carentan, St Lô and Bayeux 9, 26 and 30km away. There are many other places of interest within easy reach, including the D-Day beaches.

We have an acre of garden and four ponds, home to three very entertaining ducks, Jasper, Itchy and Scratchy. The pasture is grazed by our good neighbour's cattle; hedges left rough for the benefit of wildlife. We love birds and have just about every species flitting about the place.

Lena is a great cook; traditional English, French, Indonesian, Malaysian and Indian meals, fruit, cheese, local farm cider and vin d'pays. Gardening is Lena's passion, so that's where most of the work is done.

We welcome a man, a woman or a couple to help with whatever's going on around the house and garden; five hours a day, five days a week. Living as family means helping with meals, and normal house chores during weekends. But there are no hard and fast rules.

Accommodation is a comfortable double bedroom, a small sitting room and shower room, all with views of the garden and beyond. We expect the accommodation to be kept clean.

Evenings may be spent with us watching TV, playing chess or scrabble, or just talking, with a couple of beers or glasses of wine - nothing's obligatory!

Plenty of free time and privacy, but zero night life - nearest bar is 10km away and closes at 8 pm! Limited local public transport, so a driving licence would be useful. We help with getting about during weekends and always invite helpers along when we go to market - usually once or twice a week.

Six of the seven helpers who've been here were great people: helpful and good company - they enjoyed being here and we enjoyed having them stay - please read their reviews. However, one miserable experience has caused us to set the initial stay at 14 days, which could be extended, provided we get along.

One non-negotiable: no smoking in the house - puff away all you want outside, but not in the house. I beat a 30 year 60 to 80 a day habit and can do without the temptation.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use