Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31114
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Le Somail / Ginestas
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31114
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 24, 2014

We have this old house with stone walls in a charming hamlet in Languedoc- Roussillon, declared Historical Heritage. This village is actually a port, bordering the Canal du Midi built in the late seventeenth century by Pierre- Paul Riquet. This canal lined with greenery and old towpaths is classed as an remarkable UNESCO World Heritage Site. We fell in love with this romantic spot along the water where live ducks, geese and raccoons ... ! For us the point is to renovate this old vineyard house to make guestrooms. That's why someone to help us would be very welcome ! We are living in another house not far, surrounded by vineyards. There is a nice shady garden where we enjoy a rest home after work.
Jean Paul is an educator for children in difficulty and I am in press editor and author in Paris (of travel guides). We have left everything to a new life, healthier and much quieter! We are now voluntarily "unemployed" in order to focus on the restoration of the house. Jean Paul is passionate about cycling and me with yoga. We eat organic food, we buy our vegetables from local producers and bread to our baker friend. We would love to have someone from a foreign country to share, having myself traveled a lot in the world (in Europe, Austalia, Tasmania, United States, India, malasia, Népal, Hong Kong, Thaïland, Indonésia...).
We need someone quite manual to help us. We are not experts in the DIY but we learn on the job as and when we encounter difficulties we consult specialized books and also the Internet. ; In the house, it takes about redo everything from floor to ceiling, but we have developed for 8 months we are on it... We only work with ecological materials (lime, hemp , brick, earth , aerated concrete, wood ...) . We are not beasts of burden, it is sometimes physical but never too long, always in a good mood !

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use