Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31130
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 850m2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31130
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 24, 2015

We are an English couple living in France. Our home is situated in the small village of Marval in the Haute-Vienne department of the Limousin region in central France.
Our house was built in 1952 and is a typical Limousin villa style, set in it's own flat, walled garden with above ground swimming pool and terrace We are slowly renovating it and creating our garden and at the same time running our own business, interspersed with Alan periodically going to work in the UK.
Projects in the pipeline include fitting a 2nd bathroom, renovating the attic bedrooms, creating a utility, pantry & new kitchen on the ground floor, decorating, creating an outdoor dining terrace, a fruit & veg garden, pointing walls, cutting back trees & much, much more!
People with a wide variety of skills such as plastering, plumbing, bricklaying, electrical work would be great but the enthusiasm to have a go & get stuck in to something new is just as good.
We have a very energetic, football mad, border collie dog called Fizz and a very laid back tabby cat called Elvis and hope this year to add a few hens to the family! I almost forgot the 4 sheep as well & 4 chickens!
We also feed and muck out a neighbour's 2 horses in return for use of a potager (vegetable garden).
The village has an old chateau and church, a shop, post office, library and bar. Nearby towns of Piegut-Pluviers (10km) & Nontron (15km) provide more shops, banks & weekly markets. Large cities of Limoges, Angouleme & Perigueux are approx 50km away.
There are no public transport links and some form of transport would be needed if you wanted to explore this lovely area whilst you're here. We could arrange a couple of bikes if needed!
We are looking for 1 or 2 flexible people to help us with gardening, housework,cooking, renovations, dog walking & sometimes to house sit so we can return to work in the Uk or have a holiday! What is needed would be dependent on the time of year. We would expect 3 - 4 hrs work per day in exchange for board & lodge. The hours could be worked flexibly (suitable to the projects), eg:a couple of hours in the morning, a couple in the afternoon or condensed into full days to allow a couple of 'days off' to go sightseeing.This is a beautiful area with a lot to see. We offer a double bedroom with ensuite shower room, ideal for a couple or single helper & another double bedroom with shared use of the family bathroom. We have broadband internet, telephone, TV & a good social life here in the village.
We are busy with the garden in spring, summer & autumn & our business gets very busy in the autumn up to Christmas so these are the times when we need help the most.
Due to our quiet, rural location we are probably more suitable to couples with their own transport rather than student backpackers but everyone is unique so feel free to contact us if you think this is what you're looking for! We are able to collect helpers from the train stations at either Angouleme or Limoges or the airport at Limoges.
We consider ourselves flexible & easy going & we get on with most people. We would prefer non-smokers.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use