Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31197
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 16
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 31197
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 20, 2015

We are hoping to grab a helpx hand from early March for a week or so if keen?

We are in the process of beginning our move from the worm farm we have been leasing for the last 3 years to our new pad (we have bought a lovely 12 acres down the road). We hope to be in by the end of Feb. We have LOTS to do and are hoping that some HELPX out there may be interested in helping out at some point during this busy time ahead.

Jobs we would love help with would include:
- gardening at our present farm including weeding/ mowing in preparation for the owners return
- help in keeping the worm farm running so watering worm bays and helping Matt with feeding and bagging up worm castings
- possibly some actual moving so lifting etc
- some cleaning but I promise this will not be the only job you get :)
- help building the duck / chook enclosures at the new place
- possibly help fencing the new paddocks for sheep and pigs (although this will depend on how the money is stretching)
- some help perhaps if able and willing with concreting and earthworks, and Matt also wants gutters on the roof so perhaps helping with that
- jobs will be varied and others will pop up so it would be great if you are willing to try new things and give stuff a go :)

Sounds like a lot! But in exchange we offer great food and company and a chance to live in what we consider a beautiful part of Australia!

A little more info...

We manage a worm farm on the Atherton Tablelands (an hours drive from Cairns) and supply compost and bait worms, worm castings and household worm kits. Our property also has beef cattle, pigs, chooks and ducks. Matt and I strive to live more sustainably, attempting to produce ourselves what we can in our busy lifestyle, and doing so as organically as possible.
We have two young kids, 3 and 5 - and have both travelled a lot and enjoy the company of other people who like to experience what the world has to offer.
We would love motivated and positive visitors who are ready to try new things ... worm farming is a little out of the ordinary and it can be quite physical at times :) helping within the worm farm would involve tasks such as feeding the worms once a week with Matt, assistance in bagging up worm castings and the bagging up the worms themselves.
Time at our farm would involve 4 hours work a day, and although we're not going to sit by you with a timer, we would appreciate only folks actually willing and prepared to complete 4 hours a day to contact us. This time could be negotiated (as in more hours one day and less or time off on others) There is a lot to see in the area from dense rainforest, crater lakes and picturesque waterfalls - and plenty to do.
Accomodation is in the Caravan out the back which offers more privacy than in the house, and of course all meals included. We love food and experiencing what the world has to offer in the culinary sense, so if you enjoy cooking we would love you to feel free to share your love for food also! We also enjoy a beer and wine at the end of the day ... and although we will definitely shout a few, if you enjoy a brewskie, please bring some of your own as well.
We are 10 mins drive from the nearest small town and 20 mins from larger Atherton so a car would be handy, although I do Kindy drop offs etc regularly so trips into town with me is a goer as well.
We also have limited and poor mobile reception - but you're welcome to use our computer for internet etc (within reason, please don't expect to spend hours a day in front of the screen - too many other things to see an do)!
Pic 1 Lake Eacham 5 mins drive down the road
Pic 2 Our pigs
Pic 3 Tjala, Nic and Banjo
Pic 4 My lovely ducks - we have 9 at the moment!
Pic 5 Our new place we're moving to
Pic 6

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use