help exchange   Host 31265
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Alice Springs
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 31265
Region: Northern Territory

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 18, 2018

We are a family of 4 (2 boys 5&7 years old). We also have 2 other love-able characters that live with us more permanently. We enjoy the opportunity HelpX gives us to learn and to pass on skills to those that stay with us.

We live on a 5 acre block 7km from the centre of Alice Springs (2km south of the gap). With a beautiful outlook toward the ranges and cliff line.

We enjoy bike riding, and you can use our spare bikes to get to town and do some exploring, and given the chance I will show you around the many local mountain bike tracks.
Walking tracks start at our back door.

We are establishing our block as an organic permaculture market garden (just over 3 years old). We make our own beer and bread.

We keep bees, chooks, ducks, geese, fish, pigs, goats and have wild rabbits (which we try to catch). In the hotter months we often see perente, sand goannas, bearded dragons and other lizards and dingo around our block.

We ask a minimum of 4 hours per day (28hrs/week) but the more you work the more we can teach you. Also, we are trying to promote our own life balance and attempt to have time off on the weekends. We encourage guests to do the same by working longer during the week (eg 6hrs/day).

Jobs for helpXers: picking, planting and weeding the garden and looking after the animals is the main focus but we can always use help with keeping the house clean and playing with the kids.

We like to have people work to their skills so if you have a particular skill that matches our many planned projects we would love you to work on that.

We have a caravan with shaded outdoor living space, kitchen, hot shower and compost toilet.

Food: We eat meat but also cater for vegetarians. For short stays we generally eat dinner together but if we are busy or tired you may have to cook for yourself. Longer stayers are provided with staples and can help themselves to fresh veggies from the garden.

Length of stay:
minimum 1 week up to one month (reviewed during the first week). Longer can be discussed during your stay.

Are you interested? Email us telling us your:
1) availability
2) favourite meal to cook
3) a funny story about sharing accommodation with others

We look forward to hearing from you :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use