Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31328
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Glen Huon
All Year: Sep-May
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1-3
Category: Other
Host ID: 31328
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 10, 2017

Looking for 1-3 helpers during summer and autumn. At the moment we would love to have those who have experience in building, woodwork, rendering or cob building. Any handy man skills are welcome as we are building our new ceramic studio using natural building methods.

If you feel attracted to alternative life-style with a lot of potential to be creative then this is the place for you. Both of us are professional ceramic artists. Our small property is 40min drive South of Hobart in the picturesque Huon Valley.

We live in an old house and work most of the time in our studio or building a new one (natural building techniques). Also have a veggie garden, many fruit trees, and chickens not to mention the visiting possums and wallabies during nighttime. So, as you can imagine there is plenty of work around (some jobs can be demanding) –gardening, building, renovating, helping out in the studio and of course housework.

In exchange for 4-5 hours work daily, we provide you with separate accommodation (little cabin with a double bed and a terrace), and fabulous, healthy food – we are both passionate about our cooking. We have Internet connection, but no TV (would have no time to watch it anyway). You can organize your time the best it suits you (within limits of course); the Huon river is nearby, there are beautiful walks around and if you want to catch the bus in Huonville, we can give you a lift.

Smoking might be a problem.

We are reasonable and easygoing, nevertheless if you find it difficult to work at times independently and motivate yourself to do a good job you might like to look somewhere else.

It would be nice, if you could arrange your time so you stay no less than two weeks.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use