Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31455
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

gold coast
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.86
Persons: preference1 maybe 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31455
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 31, 2017

Hi! we are looking for a motivated, hard working person (can consider a couple)with building experience to help us and to take the lead in upgrading a static caravan & building a carport over it for rain collection etc. We have a large family home on 12 acres of serenely quiet, eucalyptus native bush-land on a hillside in the Gold Coast Hinterland.(Called The Green Behind The Gold) The west views are over the Hinze Dam and looking east you can see the coast in the distance. It is a semi-tropical paradise, with native wildlife, trees and plants.Kookaburras & kangaroos literally at your door! We have free range chickens,2 miniature goats, a cat and 2 Border Collies. There is an in-ground swimming pool, bush-walks and nearby are golden beaches(20mins by car)excellent shopping(10mins by car)theme parks(30mins by car)national forest (5mins by car)fishing on the dam (10mins by car)etc etc.We are 1 hr drive from central Brisbane,25mins from the Gold Coast Airport & 20mins from the NSW border. We are an Irish/Scottish couple with our extended family living locally. We believe in sustainability and permaculture, and want to set up composting, honey bees, worm farm, growing mushrooms, vegetables, fruit trees, herbs and female goats for milking, yogurt, cheese etc.(we want to complete some building work first) We upcycle, recycle, repurpose & use materials gained locally for small building works around the house, so heading off with Yvonne to collect materials from Gumtree in the trailer isn't an unusual occurrence. You can make & eat fresh bread daily and there are free range eggs daily!
We can offer accommodation (25ft static caravan) in exchange for helping 2 days per week (5 days to yourself) with general work around the property gardening,animal husbandry, DIY repair/maintenance and building works and generally having a great experience in this tropical paradise. It is your responsibility to shop & feed yourselves. There is an expectation you keep your own place clean and tidy.
It is great if you have your own transport,(very steep hill means brilliant views) or you may be happy to stay on the land! There is public transport bus at the bottom of the hill, and we are happy to negotiate work/working hours. We are looking for at least 1 month, preferably up to 3 months, if it works for both of us.We would prefer non-smokers, and sorry but we cannot offer visa experience. Our home is a family home, close to amenities by car,and not suitable for party animals.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use