Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31486
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Balsa
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 15 hectares
Persons: 6
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31486
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 15, 2018

Heavenly Village Romania is the name I give to this big and inspiring Project. With an international group of people, friends, family, young and older, volunteers and everyone that is interested we have the goal to bring life back again in the old off road village of Bratea. Let me introduce myself, my name is Mike, I am a world citizen from the Netherlands, I travelled a lot and amongst other things I have experience with running a successful Bed & Breakfast with volunteers from all over the world. I have some knowledge and experience in building my own habitat, ecological agriculture and permaculture. I wish to grow in this and to realize the principles that goes with the theories here on this land.

A young family, my son David, Iris and Felix, bought 2 years ago a very nice little farm of 7 hectares called Gradina Edenului (transl. "Garden of Eden") next to that i bought 8.5 hectares of extra land with an old house that has to be restored. That house is still off Grid but electricity is on ot's way ( 2018). We have very good water coming from different wells, lots of beautiful nature with very little disturbing noises from other humans. It is a small valley with fields and forest around. If you apply to this presentation that means that I will be your host and that you will live pretty off grid. David and iris have limited Wi-Fi Internet, one warm shower so far, a 4X4 car and some more useful stuff and I am obliged to respect their privacy. We'll visit the nearest town at least one time a week so you'll be able to tune in to civilization every now and then.

Some passers by we hosted last year bought 1 house further in the hills with 2 hectares of nice land. New friends with a young kid and a second on it's way are moving our way from a village nearby, they will buy a house further up. This way a self supporting community where everyone has its place and where we work together as friends gets the old village alive and kicking again. We will set up a school and have ideas to have horses, sheep and more of that kind to keep all the land healthy and natural. The group grows 'organically' and will continue to grow as there are still some adjoining houses with land for sale and enthusiastic visitors. Our neighbours and other inhabitants of the village of Balsa are good and helpful friends.

The second year has gone by and a lot happened in this relatively short time. Still there is plenty to do.
Next to the daily work like maintenance, cleaning, cooking, laundry, gardening and other farm work, we have all kinds of bigger and smaller jobs for which we will highly appreciate some committed assistance. To mention a few: Restoring a house, building a tree house, digging waterways, collecting spices in the wild, building a chicken coop, planting trees, building a compost toilet, clearing the bush, building and decorating tiny houses, gipsy wagons, cob houses, earth ship, preparing nice places for guests and volunteers, .. .. building campfires, making music, organizing a party, ... .. Notice that not all of this will be done at the same time, depending on the season, the budgets and the materials available. No experience is needed although specific skills will be an advantage. Most important is that you are willing to be a contribution to the whole and that you enjoy doing this.

What we can and will offer to you is : A good time, good company, good mainly vegetarian and pure food, great experiences, friendships, good sleeping place, freedom to decide yourself and a few other things like free time in between, support in what is important for you. We promise open communication, if there is something you like or dislike, just tell us, if we have something we like or dislike we'll tell you. The goal: everyone happy, healthy and wise.

We only accept volunteers that will stay at least 3 weeks, 1 month is better, longer still better!
We prefer non-smokers and non-heavy drinkers. We like musicians and artists.

**
We love skilled people but also beginners with a good motivation and a smile.

**
We'll give you a good time, opportunities to learn a lot, languages, skills, whatever you want. You will be free to discover the surroundings, we will be happy to help you with whatever you need and want. Please let us know your wishes.

**
Tent or room or special volunteers barn place. We can even build your own place. We will dine together with everyone around. Some of us will cook and serve, others will do the dishes. Good food guaranteed!

**
If you have ideas and wishes just let us know, we will help you to get what you want.

We live a vegetarian and healthy lifestyle, without regular smoking and exess drinking alcoholics.

Feel free to send a message and be Welcome to pass by when we have space..

Your friend and maybe future host and friend,
Mike

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use