Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31520
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1 acre
Persons: 1-2
Category: Other
Host ID: 31520
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 22, 2016

HI, we are a very friendly and warm Irish born family with three children aged 11,10 and 6, living in the heart of Scotland in Highland Perthshire. We love animals and have a fab wee Border Terrier a Tonkinese cat and 4 hens.

Aberfeldy is a small and interesting artisan town set in the most stunning valley which is described as being 'a fit vestibule for heaven'. It is known for its beauty, water sports, lochs and mountains. Aberfeldy is 7 miles from the stunning and tranquil loch Tay and 1 hour from the ski resorts. Ben Lawers mountain range and the mystical Schiehallion mountain are amongst many Monroes nearby. The town hosts its own sell out festival in early November, birthed and directed by my husband Ryan. Many come from all over for the music, poetry, and literature. This quaint town is a very social and friendly place and has a choice of award winning cafes, restaurants, galleries, cinema, delis, farmshop and large bookshop from converted old mill. All amenities are within short walking distance and picturesque setting. It has bus links to perth connecting to all major cities in Scotland. We are 1hr 15min from Edinburgh and 1hr 30min from Glasgow. The train station is 15/20 min away and we can help with lifts to and from station if required.

We have bought a 200 year old Heritage Tweed business over a year ago now and we provide a made to measure service for traditional tweed suits and clothing. We have our own design range of bags and contemporary clothing. On site we also have a print studio with 4 vintage printing presses, an artist working studio/gallery for my husbands work. This all happens from a 3 story beautiful old converted Temperance Hotel in the centre of the town. This is where the accommodation will be.

So..... lots to do!! We are looking for 1-2 trustworthy hard working people with enthusiasm and initiative.Non smokers, easy going and able to enjoy the family. Working 5-6 hrs day for 5 days/week. We can accommodate a married couple or friends in a double room or a single person. We will provide a comfortable warm room, plenty of hot water, washing machine, fully equipped kitchen, Wi Fi, internet access. We have bikes that you can borrow and explore the area. We can provide groceries for breakfast and lunch and some evening meals with the family.

In exchange:
We have a list of other jobs from building shelves to house heavy tweed to helping make an outside room and clay pizza oven to painting walls. But garden is the main one! We have 2 gardens and amazing views. I have a small rustic patio, almost complete which needs finishing.

General skills: cleaning; housekeeping chores, cutting grass, painting and DIY would be welcomed :)

Having an interest and experience with kids is an advantage as babysitting may be called upon occasionally. We are able to be somewhat flexible in the hours if you have something planned. It is however important to have a good understanding of the English Language

We would require 2 work references ( paid or voluntary). It would be advantageous if you had a CRB certificate or disclosure certificate.

Many thanks for taking the time to read this. We are looking for helpers ASAP to start in early April, I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use