Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31602
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 31602
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 9, 2018

Looking for some help up until the 25th May.

We are a small family: 2 children, 2 dogs 3 cows, sheep, ducks and chickens. We live in Hira on a rural lifestyle of 4 hectors. We raise chicks and ducks for meat and eggs. We also graze the sheep and cows. We pretty much grow all our own fruit and veg for seasonal eating and winter storage. Our heating is via managed woodland and solar and our water is via rain water and the River Teal. We have two properties and a pool to manage.

Its been a beautiful summer, we've had some great summer crops with a range of salads and delicious dishes.

This is the time of year when the temperature drops and the garden starts to look tired, so its time to sort veggie beds for winter veg and get stores in for colder months.

We've also had a few crazy storms so there is woodland to be tidied and firewood to be managed

Other projects include: Sorting compost, Processing firewood from trees felled ready for sorting, splitting and stacking, fencing & woodland maintenance, sowing, planting, general gardening

Dave is into archery/woodwork, fishing, hunting and anything to do with surfing, whereas Alice loves to walk, swim, do pilates and work in the garden. Unfortuntaley I just broke my foot so Im stuck doing very little at the moment. The kids love & are into everything! We would love to have someone to stay to share our family life and help with all the above and in turn have some fun and learn some valuable skills.

You would have your own self contained accommodation and be as independent as you wish. No smokers please.

We are 15 mins from Nelson town where there is easy access to some of the best National Parks in NZ. Public Transport from Hira is not great so your own transport is good if you have it.

Dave and I both work so some of the time you will be working on your own.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use