Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31705
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 31705
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 22, 2018

At the moment I have a space available for a HelpXer from October probably.

I am usually looking for somebody with at least some previous experience of gardening, as I need some help with an organic growing area that is not a farm, but allotment land, distributed over 2 sites with very different soil in West Oxford. I have been growing a mixture of vegetables, soft fruit and fruit trees for 28 years.

Over the last years I have had great help from several HelpXers, who have done a lot of digging and weeding, so nowadays there is not a lot of heavy digging to do. Tasks include maintaining the plots, dealing with perennial weeds, regular weeding, watering and from now there will be regular harvesting to do.

Apart from the regular sowing, planting and harvesting, there are also repairs to sheds, including painting sheds and decking, so somebody with some carpentry or woodworking skills would be ideal. I will also need help with harvesting and preparing vegetables and fruit for the freezer.

We also keep about 15 chickens, and you would need to help with those - feeding them, cleaning the shed and run, collecting eggs etc.

We live on the outskirts of Oxford, so within easy reach of Oxford centre (10mins on a bike which we can lend you) - we provide comfortable accommodation including very good WiFi. Most of our food is organic (not all of it home-grown). You'll be expected to work 25 hours per week, plus joining in with the cooking (alongside that, many of my previous helpers have managed to at least work part-time to earn money and some of them have stayed with me in order to attend English courses in Oxford).

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use