help exchange   Host 3190
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 33 000
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 3190
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 23, 2015

This is a beef cattle property, running about 5,000 head on 90,000 acres in Northern Queensland. We are a family business, two brothers, their wives and 7 young children, that enjoy having the company of great people.

Your accomodation will be clean and basic, you have your own private bedroom and you share bathroom and toilet facilities with our family.

We look forward to hosting anyone who would enjoy an outback experience and getting involved with all aspects of our life.

We work 7 days a week, early mornings and full days. If you are prepared to throw yourself fully into our lifestyle, you will have lots of laughs, new experiences and take away a real understanding of living in the Australian bush.

You will receive as much as you give!

Our wet season traditionally extends from Dec through to March. During this period we experience very hot temperatures, 40 degrees with extreme humidity, so if you are unaccustomed to these temps it may be better to plan to come after March.

We can pick up from Cairns or Townsville if you are able to give us a few weeks notice. Alternatively there is a bus that you can catch from Cairns that gets you to the small town of Mount Surprise- we can then drive into Mount Surprise (2 hours) and pick you up. We are happy to extend the invitation all year round.

If you are keen to experience our "outback living" then we suggest that you give yourself at least 2 weeks to come visit us. We are isolated and it is at least a days drive from Cairns or Townsville.

We eat a diet that includes a lot of red meat and fresh fruit and veggies. Because of our isolation it is not easy to cater for special diets, so if you have special requirements you will need to bring things to forfil your needs.

The following photos may help to give you some idea of our lives and the experiences you may have.

Photo 1 - Our first helpxer with Darcy cementing posts and putting our rural power underground.

Photo 2 - HelpXer showing off the first ferral pig he has ever shot.

Photo 3 - Juliane with children teaching them to ride on their horse.

Photo 4 - One of our stockmen following up a mob of cattle - headed for the yards

Photo 5 - Fixing one of the many cattle fences on Oakleigh.

Photo 6 - HelpXers Paul (Irish) & Par (Swiss) helping to paint the outside of the station homestead.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use