Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31901
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Point Vernon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.1
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31901
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 26, 2015

Welcome to the chill-out zone for adults known as blueHouse.
My home overlooks the ocean and nature preserve, and is about 150m from the beach - from the front balcony you can watch the sun setting over the ocean, and check the tides. Free use of Wi-Fi, quality cycles, and snorkel gear included. Kayak and skateboard available with appropriate training. Spa available. The amenities of town are a 15 minute ride away along the oceanfront, and buses are available to the front door seven times a day (but must be booked). There are kangaroos nearby, and plenty of turtles in the ocean. I run tours to Fraser Island better and cheaper than the tour companies (2 nights for 3 women, $200 per person in 4 star luxury, and including breakfast and tours in Volvo luxury) for small numbers, but my prime job is as a Medical Practitioner (GP), and Skin Cancer Surgeon.

I would like women and men to help out with cat feeding and patting and playing, cleaning, tidying, painting, gardening, and other work about the home - 2 hours each per night for accommodation on comfortable couches, or the spare bedroom, depending on how many people are visiting (up to 8 at a time). Most nights I am away, but I'm actually harmless despite being a convicted criminal in 2002 (not guilty, but too complicated to explain in this forum). Lavazza coffee, tea and milk provided, a weekly dinner, and carbs such as bread, rice, pasta, & breakfast cereals - but fresh food (eg. vegetables and fruit and meat) should be mainly self-catered. The options for weekly dinner include barbeque (usually steak and marinated chicken, fried onions, and salad), roast with vegies, crepes (sauce for main course usually chicken fried in butter, with cream/herbs/spinach etc added), stir fry, curries, pasta etc, and open to suggestions.
Local activities include Fraser Island swimming in some of the best lakes in the world and 4WD, horse-riding, skydiving, cheap helicopter joy flights, camel rides, etc, etc.
PS: for some reason, the HelpX website keeps turning the photo of my home (with kangaroo in foreground) around. But I think you get the idea: it's a reasonably charming and friendly cottage close to the ocean, still with some painting to go.

The men and women are segregated in my household. If there are more women then men, they get the spare bedroom (it's a 4 bedroom home, but only 1 spare bedroom: 1 is my piano and music room with it's couch, and one is my dressing room, also with couch) instead of couches, or vice versa

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use