Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31923
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 2-4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 31923
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 22, 2018

We have a couple of places available now. We will in most cases reply to you within an hour or two yes or no. We provide unlimited free wifi that's pretty reliable too. Plenty of food, hot showers, and warm rooms. We have a 6ha block, of which 4ha is in nursery and garden centre, remainder orchard, veges, ornamental planting & alpaca grazing. A small stream goes through the middle which we have planted, its great in summer to lie in the shade under a tree. A variety of jobs may be found, usually nusery related jobs working with our permanent staff including potting, weeding etc, but may include property maintenance, cleaning,gardening painting etc, . We are a kiwi/Thai couple with 3 kids at home, a ragdoll cat, a yellow Lab, & alpacas. Oh & Muffin the little shizhtu x that "works" for us too everyday- a two for one deal that comes with a staff member LOL.
We have several rooms (all have heaters over winter) One is semi self contained, the others are close by the kitchen & bathroom.

We've been doing Helpx for 3 years but have had hundreds of backpackers of many nationalities over the last 15 years, especially till 2010 when we were market gardening so relate well to most people. It is predominantly outside work, sometimes its wet, sometimes its dirty. As long as you have a good attitude & can pull you're weight working with our other staff you're welcome here. In order to enhance your experience, many past helpers have requested that everyone tries to speak English as a matter of courtesy when in a mixed group of nationalities & also helps them practice. We agree that this really keeps the whole group happier, so prefer helpers who will carry on this tradition that some long-term helpers set up this year. We cook some nights, the other nights everything you need is provided. You MUST help either cook or prepare (if you cant cook) when its your turn & clean, if you don't want to do either please don't apply here, we try & put together a nice group that fits and other helpers hate it when someone does neither. Current permanent staff incl Kiwi, Japanese and Philipino. We're about 2km from Waipapa which has a dairy, takeaways, The Warehouse etc & we are about 10km from Kerikeri. Your own transport would be useful but we are backwards & forwards to town, school etc so no problem to drop off etc sometimes, or collect from bus etc. If you need the city life on your doorstep everyday, this isn't the place, were not too far from town, but Kerikeri has no public transport, so you will be working in with us for rides to town etc if you don't have your own transport. We also have a bike you can use. Almost every Helpx does the Rainbow Falls track walk. We can drop you off here.
We lead a busy life & come & go. We provide accommodation, plus all meal materials provided for you to prepare & cook yourself as you wish, as well as fruit, plus fruit & veges from the garden etc. So while were close enough to have a good experience, you're also totally independent to cook what you like, when you like & do what you like on days off. Some cooked meals provided when it fits in with us usually about 2-3x per week. Well try & stock a good range so there's something for everyone. Those from Asian countries will probably enjoy finding some of their ingredients available. (Yuan is a great cook of Thai food, but as were often busy, working or somewhere you will be cooking for yourself mostly) Work times would usually be Mon-fri, poss Saturday but mostly the weekend off, with total hours made up over the weekdays.(IE, you may do your total hours owing for the week over just 3-4 days)We roster Helpxers on/off so most do full days on, but not all working the same day. We are really flexible though. The longer helpers can stay the better, Minimum stay of a week please. Four hours per day in exchange for room & all food you need to prepare your own meals. See whats here, and give us a shopping list for what else you like to eat, we like to have happy helpers so generally get you whatever you prefer. (Sorry no caviar though LOL) Sometimes you can join us on outings etc, & if you have no car we usually will get you somewhere- Kauri forest, beach etc, depends how long you stay, how much we get to take you around.
A popular days outing that we can drop you to is walking the Rainbow Falls track, then seeing Stone Store, Kemp House & Rewas Village, then walk up to Charlies rock for a swim & we pick you up from there. Or a day at Taronui Bay. We have several kayaks for outings & Helpx use, also if you are comfortable, we can drop you off do your own thing kayaking on the lake, up the inlet etc.
You'll need to be happy working outdoors, & have some sturdy footwear & warm clothes if its cold.
We usually have between 2-4 Helpxers, so you also get to meet other people from various countries who are also staying with us.
We have unlimited free wifi available, Skype etc is ok.
Check out our facebook page, we add current pictures and info about our business, property, happy Helpxers & activities to this regularly & it gives an insight into our business and HelpX activities.
When emailing please let us know what date you would like to arrive, how long initially you want to stay, whether you have your own transport, & if you are friends or a couple. If you don't have a photo up, letting us know whether you are guys or girls is also helpful, as we cannot always tell from foreign names LOL. I will in most cases reply to you the same day, often within a couple of hours, although sometimes im waiting for others to confirm. WE ALWAYS REPLY TO ALL ENQUIRIES (have heard so many don't, which is really not fair). Once I have confirmed a place is available, a speedy confirmation back is really good so others can have the room if you don't come. A phone number may be helpful if you are not often near internet, however I prefer to take enquiries by email so I have a record of who is coming etc.
We also prefer helpers over about 22 years old, or younger if you have several good feedbacks.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use