Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 31940
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Does not apply
Persons: 1 or maybe two
Category: Other
Host ID: 31940
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 24, 2014

We are Paul & Alison and we are looking for a HelpXer now. We live in Oakham, Rutland in the centre of England. The county of Rutland is bordered by Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, and Northamptonshire.

We are renovating a small racing yacht. It is a Soling which was the three person keelboat in the Olympics from 1972 to 2000. A Soling is nearly 27 feet long, made of GRP, has a mast 31 feet tall off the deck and weighs over a ton. The steps of the renovation process are: taking off and labelling all the fittings; stripping and sanding down the hull and all surfaces; some minor repairs; smoothing the hull and keel; a final cleaning of the boat, painting it, and cleaning and putting the fittings back on.

The job will take maybe three weeks or a bit more. We also have some decorating to do if the weather is not great and a small green house to assemble so there plenty to do but none of it is heavy work.

Coming to us might appeal to you if you sail or would like to learn how to sail. Our place is just beside Rutland Water, a large lake and that is where the boat is currently kept. You will go by bicycle to the lake.

Experience working on boats or decorating is not essential but it would be useful if you were a practical type of person. The most important thing is that you have patience and that whatever you do you like to do well.

We have had many HelpXers come to stay with us before but at our place in France so look at Host number ???? if you want to see what other HelpXers have said about us.

We live in the town of Oakham, near the centre, so we are not isolated. If you want to venture to London or somewhere else we are within walking distance of the train station. We are on the train line from London Stansted Airport to Birmingham.

We have a dog, a Golden Retriever so it would help if you liked dogs.

We are not vegetarian.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use