Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 32326
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 32326
Region: New South Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 20, 2018

***italiani particolarmente benvenuti***

Our property is a couple of kilometres outside the village of Nimbin in the beautiful Northern Rivers region of NSW - half an hour from Lismore, 45 minutes from Murwillumbah, an hour from Byron Bay/Ballina, and just over an hour from Coolangatta airport.

We are establishing a subtropical house garden on about one acre. We would appreciate help with the construction of a storm-water drain for rainwater run-off near the house, chainsawing fallen trees, weeding, brush-cutting (whipper snippering) and planting ornamental gardens. Help with oiling the decking would also be appreciated.

Help with endemic weed species eradication, particularly along the creek, is urgently required. Small-leaf privet, lantana and giant devil`s figs are starting to gain a foothold and need to be severely dealt with!

People with TRACTOR-DRIVING SKILLS are particularly welcome as our creek flats require frequent slashing.

We are two retired gay men. Comfortable accommodation is your own room in our house. We have a swimming pool, a grand piano (one of us is an active musician - there is also a sax, a beautiful guitar and other instruments!).

As we are on tank water, helpers would need to be water-wise!

Our two dogs, one of which was rescued from a tough life on the streets, are gentle and friendly souls.

We are vegetarians but are equally comfortable providing vegan meals. We prefer to eat organic food where possible.

2 - 3 hours help a day would be appreciated - this would allow plenty of time for other activities such as exploring the natural beauty and cultural quirkiness of this part of the world, and just chilling out generally!

Please note that we do NOT need help with clothes-washing, house cleaning or child minding. It would be appreciated if any requests addressed our specific situation; generic emails sent to multiple hosts will receive a polite refusal. Please have an updated profile and a photo - this helps paint a picture of people we might invite into our lives.

Initial stays of 3 or 4 days would be preferred, and then open to negotiation after that. Unfortunately, we are not able to help with 2nd year visa extensions.

NB Our preference is for Helpers over 25.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use