Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 32333
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: August to March
Area (ha): 64 hectares
Persons: 1 to 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 32333
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 7, 2018

We are not looking for helpers at the moment.
Our family consists of Dan, who is a saddle maker, horse trainer and handles the stallions, Lee, who is a Veterinarian and is in charge of the breeding centre, Charlotte (13 yrs old) and Tom (11 yrs old).
We are a veterinary horse breeding centre. We have mobile phone reception and are 20 minutes drive from Rockhampton. You can travel to Rockhampton by plane, bus or train. We stand stallions at stud and people bring there mares to us to be bred, artificially inseminated or embryo transferred and foaling. Dan also trains quarter horses for cutting. You will be able to ride with Dan if you want. This is not part of the job but offered as something to do in your time off.
During the breeding season (September to February) we can have upto 100 mares, however the last few seasons have been much smaller. we are looking for help to feed 30-50 horses in the mornings and evenings and to help catch mares to be scanned and clean yards/ stables. Horse experience is preferred. Other useful experience is the ability to drive a 4 wheel motor bike, tractor and be willing to work hard (average 4-6 hrs a day). We will reward hard work with social outing, going to the beach, horse riding and boating. We have a 6.8mt fiberglass boat with a 200hp motor and go out fishing/snorkeling around the Keppel Islands when the weather allows it and would like to take our helpers out. Or we go crabbing in the estuary. We can also offer horse riding in a peaceful environment. We have lots of kangaroos and wallaby's around, and plenty of bird life. We do Shotokan Karate twice a week as a family and yoga when we can, helpers are more than welcome to join us. The accommodation offered is a 2 bedroom, air conditioned, self contained flat. Our busiest time is from October through to the end of February.
We like our helpers to stay at least two weeks, longer is better as it takes a little while to learn the jobs and get familiar with the paddocks and horses.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use