Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 32361
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 1.3
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 32361
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 17, 2016

Looking for help from April 2017 ...

We moved to South West France in 2013 and are enjoying integrating into the French way of life. James is fluent in French, proficient in German and has very basic Greek. I am taking weekly French classes – so French speakers would be very welcome or anyone wishing to learn the language themselves so we can help each other.

We live in a tiny commune in the countryside on a large plot of land, surrounded by sunflowers and currently occupy an apartment in a corner of one of our séchoirs (tobacco drying barns) with our 2 aged cats, Cobweb and Dusty. We also have 9 chickens at the moment who free range and then roost each night in a converted pigsty. Future plans involve more chickens and ducks, goats or sheep, maybe a piglet or 2 for the unconverted side of the pigsty and setting up a 'wild' campsite.

Helpx was recommended to us by friends and we think it's a great idea. We both have experience as volunteers in a range of areas including community projects and fundraising in addition to the practical side of canal restoration and working as medieval builders in a 13th century fortified castle (Gill also made the costumes!) James is an experienced singer and storyteller and has given animated talks to clubs and societies about our experiences. We have 17 years experience as a Salvation Army Christmas chef and sous chef and having lived and worked in international and multi-cultural groups James enjoys cooking a wide range of world cuisine. He's also gluten intolerant so able to cater for coeliacs and other dietary needs. We love meeting new people are keen to share and exchange our knowledge and skills with our helpers.

We have 3 ¼ acres of land with trees and hedgerows to manage and grasslands to mow, a pond and drainage to be dug as well as a vegetable garden to be fenced off so the chickens don't eat everything! We need to build shutters for the windows and a porch over the front door. There's still some work to do on Whinnie! (see accommodation below) and as mentioned above we're also working on setting up a 'wild' camping site and will need to build some composting toilets and a solar shower block.

We're looking for enthusiastic volunteers of any age, physically fit and prepared to do anything within reason and willing to share skills and ideas with us.

We are happy to welcome non-smoking singles, couples or groups of friends.

We're looking for 2 to 4 volunteers at a time from April to September 2017. Our aim is to start our building projects – finishing off the séchoir we are living in and starting phase 2 of renovation of the pigsty - so we'll need lots of help in the Spring and Autumn next year.

You have a choice of accommodation – a 7.5 tonne (almost finished!) converted horse box called Whinnie (sleeps 4 and was our festival campervan), a simple and spacious but as yet unfinished bedroom (sleeps 2) or you may decide to pitch our tent outside and sleep under the stars. These give a heavenly show as we have very little light pollution here.

Your hours of working can be flexible, for instance starting early in the day and finishing early in the afternoon, or starting mid afternoon and working into the evening. Either way you will have lots of time to explore this wonderful area. We have a couple of bicycles you can use to get into the local village of Seyches, just 4 km away or the local town, Marmande – about 12.5km away, giving you access to the train station and links towards Bordeaux and the coast or Agen, Carcasonne and Toulouse in the opposite direction.

The village (Seyches) has a locally renowned restaurant, a lovely bakery, tabac and village store and a pizza van on Fridays. Marmande is situated on the banks of the Garonne and has a wonderful Saturday market, full of life and colour. Around the Lac du Beaupuy on the way to Marmande and along the Canal Latéral à la Garonne are some lovely cycle paths. There are canoeing and kayaking opportunities locally, vineyards (we are in the AOC Cotes du Marmondais area), châteaux and fortified towns to visit – in fact so much to see and do you'll want to come back for a holiday when the camp site is up and running!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use