help exchange   Host 32680
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

West Cork
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 32680
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 19, 2015

We have a house and a pottery workshop on a half acre of land. We are a lesbian couple, one of whom works full-time from her pottery studio, the other works in the local town.
Currently our main priorities are getting the outside house and garden looking well. Because the pottery business is dependent on tourists and visitors calling in it's important that the place looks tended and welcoming. Because we're so near the sea the house needs painting every year, otherwise it looks kind of green instead of it's usual purple (most of it is one story so not much ladder work needed). In the garden there is grass cutting, hedge tidying, weeding flower beds, fences to mend, clearing to do and other odds and ends. To some extent this is weather dependant but we would people who don't mind working outside even if the weather is a little damp - but we won't be expecting you to work outside in bad weather!
Ideally we'd like to get help for a week or so in April and another week in May.
Perhaps about 25 hours a week in exchange for accommodation and meals, we're flexible on this.
Your room would have a double bed and it's own bathroom. While we do eat meat we would be very happy to be vegetarian for a while to accommodate vegetarians.
We are in a lovely part of the world. The house is 5 kms from the nearest village, 15 minutes drive from the villages/towns of Ballydehob / Schull / Bantry. We are happy to facilitate transport and trips, and to be flexible with working hours/days to allow for exploring the area. We're hoping to have bicycles available for you. There isn't a sandy beach beside us but there is access to the sea within 10/15 mins walk, where you can have a swim or explore the coastline. It may be better for 2 people travelling together unless you are the type of person who is happy spending time on your own.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use