Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 32780
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no
Area (ha): 0.4
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 32780
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 25, 2018

Hello We are Dan and Anna

From June - We need help looking after our very lively , very fun, and rather awesome boy who is 5 years old, so that we can do more work (boo).

Dan needs to spend more time working at starting a couple of new businesses Solaesthetic -a design company that specialises in creating renewable energy devices with aesthetic impact being the highest priority. and Physis Academy a digital arts training centre.

Anna is a Doctor of Social Work and is a Senior Lecturer at a training clinic London.

We would like someone to be an 'au pair plus'. Ideally someone who has some experience of being responsible for a child or is very confident with children, but who is also energetic enough to join in our boys skatepark action, freerunning and mountain biking. Someone basically fluent with English and preferably a driver.
Perhaps you would be interested in helping with research maybe even translations for Solaesthetic and Physis,(check out the websites) though this is not obligatory.

The deal is 75 pocket money, food and board in return for 24-32 hours of helping us out. Mostly we'd expect you to be spending time with for our son while we work, and maybe do some of the research, but we mix this up a bit to keep it interesting.
We all do the housework and get involved with gardening. We will do most of the cooking but we would love it if you want to cook for us sometimes too.

You'd get plenty of time to pursue your own interests but we need you to be a bit flexible. Experience with children is highly desirable, but personality is the most important to us. This is probably not a situation for a shy person, we are all quite big characters in the house, Our boy included.

We will not treat you as an employee. You will be joining our household for a while and the experience is reciprocal. We are fairly informal and easy going, but we need you to be self motivated and energetic.

We don't have TV in the house but we watch the occasional thing on the laptops.

Our boy is super enthusiastic and loves doing energetic things.
He is unusually athletic and capable his age. (People often ask us if he has a sponsor!) He likes Scootering, mountain biking (Proper Trails), Singing, Dancing, Stories, painting, exploring, wildlife, but most of all, spending time with his friends. Actually there isn't much he doesn't like except stopping doing something that he is enjoying. He also likes to join in with real tasks, chopping veg for food. building gymnastics and climbing equipment in the garden. etc. Lots really, he is very alive so you must be fit and up for fun! We would like to learn to surf this summer, so a wetsuit might be in order.

Research tasks, if you should want to take them up will be guided by Dan and will include, fact finding, general market research, technical research, and extending the social media network for Solaesthetic. If you have a design, engineering or architecture background it would help. but We think that it is interesting to everyone.

We live in a detached house in a small orchard with quite a few unkempt fruit trees and some big mature trees. The house is basic but the garden makes up for it.

We have a camper van which is huge fun and means we often drive off to the beech or up to Welsh mountains. If you are a driver you can probably borrow it from time to time if we aren't using it.

We have very good mountain bikes and a spare bike that you can use.

We have a house mate called Peter (60) who we share the house with. a very easy man to get along with

We like good food and enjoying what our surroundings have to offer.

Stroud, is a unique place. a busy market town at the edge of the Cotswolds Hills with beautiful valleys and high commons. it has an unusual concentration of alternative thinkers and independently minded people. There is a rich arts and Music scene, as well as some lovely pubs. there is a lot to do here and it is easy to get involved with the local creative community.

We are quite near to the city of Bristol, and within exploring range of Cheltenham, Gloucester, Oxford, Bath, Birmingham and even London, which is 1hr 20mins on the train.
If you like walking, then you will enjoy this place. We have strong links to Wales and often travel there so this is another place you can explore with us.

We are highly educated and enjoy a lot of discussion. Our lifestyle is very explorative and curious about the world.

We speak a very sophisticated version of english and this would be good for people who want to improve and refine their english language.

You would gain very interesting exposure to the ideas and knowledge that we base our lives on.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use