Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 33038
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.3
Persons: 1 or2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 33038
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 21, 2017

The Presbytery is an old vicarage now used as our home with a large garden, tennis court, field and some woodland. We - Penny (now retired from working in our National Health Service) and Frank (retired from working in education) - are an older but active couple and we will welcome anyone to help us maintain the property (outside and inside). The garden and outside areas - especially around the tennis court (which may be used) and field need clearing of undergrowth and adjacent trees pruned back and needs general upkeep. Inside the house needs some decorating and other general maintenance work. Penny has some health issues and cannot tolerate cigarette smoke, so there cannot be smoking anywhere in the house.

The Presbytery is in the East Sussex countryside (classified as an area of outstanding natural beauty) and public transport is quite limited. However, we do have two bicycles that can be borrowed and there are beautiful walks nearby. We can reach the railway station in about ten minutes in our car with trains to London (1 hr) or the coast (~30 mins), and there is a limited bus service in the village about 2km away. As we are quite isolated, surrounded mainly by farm land, it might be more fun for a couple than a single person.

The best time for help would be for one to three weeks during the summer while the weather is suitable, but we would consider other times if it is more suitable.

We would expect to have robust help for an average of 5 hours a day (for 5 days each week) in return for full board.

We have room in the house for one or two people with accommodation for a single person or a couple (double bedroom and TV) or two friends (with separate bedrooms) on the top floor that has its own bathroom. Penny is a very good cook and we will enjoy sharing food, humour and conversation with our guest-helper(s). We like noisy, busy, chatty meals.

Penny’s interests include her two cats, gardening, politics and cooking; and we both enjoy reading, singing in a choir, amateur dramatics, music and films (we have a projector and drop-down screen). We are used to large family gatherings because, between us, we have a mixed-race set of ten children, some of them adopted, and it is possible that some of these with their own children might visit and eat with us.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use