Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 33098
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 33098
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 23, 2018

Looking for a real Aussie experience?
Somewhere you can experience life in an Australian family? A place where you can visit spectacular beaches,enjoy bush walks and still be close to city amenities, like shops and cafes? Would you like to experience life on a small hobby farm, learn about permaculture, sustainability and growing your food?

We are looking for enthusiastic and self motivated helpers to join our family and help us with the busy tasks on our farm. Our helpers are welcomed and treated as part of the family for a true cultural exchange. We offer your own double bed room in the family home and all meals,wifi, and a chance to get to know this beautiful part of the world and experience life in an Aussie family.

We are a family of five (including 3 young children)and two large dogs. We live on a 5 acre permaculture property that includes a mixed orchard, veggie patch and Australian Bush foods garden. We also breed chickens, aplpacs and sometimes guinea fowl. We have recently built a solar passive rammed earth home that overlooks a natural creek line and a small patch of bush that we are currently restoring with native plants.

Our farm is 12mins from Bunbury and 2mins to Dardanup with easy access to beaches, rivers, bushland, Bunbury`s waterside cafe strip and famous dolphins. We also love travelling, kayaking (great for close encounters with dolphins), art and cooking with Bush Foods.

Our farm is located at the base of the Fergusson Valley, which is an up and coming wine and cheese region (check out the website:

Autumn is keeping us busy at the moment, with fruits and vegies growing fast (currently picking plums, passionfruit, grapes, corn, tomatoes, lettuce, kale and various herbs). Projects we are currently working on include creek line restoration, orchard improvements, veggie gardening, landscaping, fencing, composting, and building chicken forage areas. Where possible we are flexible and willing to accommodate the skills and interests of our Helpers as to tasks undertaken.

We currently have a helpx position for a couple or two friends travelling together. We are looking for help with tasks around the farm and in the home (including some cooking and cleaning). Must be happy to join in the fun, noise and general chaos that is part of being in a family with young children. We would also consider a single helper who is self motivated and able to work independently. (please note, we only have one room for helpers so friends travelling together must be okay to share a room).

We are a mixed diet household (one vegetarian, one non-vegetarian). We are able to cater for vegans or other diets by request.

We have both been long-term travellers and so enjoy sharing our life with other travellers. Our helpers are always welcomed as part of the family and are invited to join family activities and outings if they wish.

Hours negotiable depending on skill-set of Helpers, approximately 4-6 hours per day in exchange for full board and lodging. We are happy for Helpers to vary hours each day in order to have time off on other days.

We have also recently purchased a larger farm between Manjimup and Pemberton which is mainly forest with a pine plantation. There may be opportunities for helpx work on this farm as well. Please note, both farms are hobby farm, not businesses, and so we are not able to offer paid work or sign second year visas.

Note: we request that our helpers arrive over a weekend so that we all have plenty of time to get to know eachother and we can show you around. Minimum stay of one week, but two weeks or more is preferred.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use