Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 33187
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ohakune
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5 acre
Persons: single or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 33187
Region: Central North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 17, 2018

Hi Helpx people... Monty here.

With winter coming and getting colder it might be time to have a break from living in your cold camper van or bad hostels..... Come and hang out with us in our warm house and help our people, getting the firewood in and keeping the fire going is most likely the hardest thing you'll have to do...

If the bossman has time he likes to show/teach helpers how to make wooden craft stuff in his workshop.... ( there are things to get ready for a market at the end of May....)

Of course the jobs still include walking/playing with US Dogs....
Most Important as "Storm" has way to much energy.... but i dont mind hanging out on the front deck enjoying the awesome view, you can join me so I can get a good old scratch behind my ear.....

Also there's some general house and garden work and the Boss man always likes it when he doesn't have to wash the dishes.
So if you are planning to be in our area at present, we would love to host you.

All you need to give is about 2- 4 hrs of your time a day and in exchange we will provide you with your own room, WiFi and a Evening Meal.. If we are going out on day trips you are more than welcome to join us.


We live about 5km out of Ohakune which is the southern entrance way to the Tongariro National Park, which offers lots of hiking and mountain biking options.

The boss lady (Saskia) loves to give back some of the hospitality she received in NZ while on her working holiday. (Dutch) These include home cooked meals, biscuits and cakes, jams and chutneys.

Photo No.1 is Me Monty on the left and my girl Storm on the right.. The bottom middle photo is your room while you are staying here.The last photo is some of the woodwork Dean creates and what you'll get to help him with...

NOTE... Saskia has just started to keep bees so please let us know if you have any severe bee allergies. And make sure to take your epi-pen.
You are not required to work in the apiary, but we want you to be safe.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use