Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 33265
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April to September
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: Couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 33265
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 26, 2018

We are looking for volunteers from May to September 2018.

Please note meat is a big part of our diet so we do not cater for vegetarians.

We live in a small village in Bulgaria, 7km from the nearby town of Popovo. The village is a friendly place, with 3 bars, shops, post-office and a library with internet access. The village has a regular bus service to Popovo, from where connecting buses or trains connect to the rest of Bulgaria. The village has a lively traditional folk-music and dance troupe, and there are plenty of opportunities to see them perform at the many local festivals throughout spring and summer.

We moved to Bulgaria in August 2014 and are busy establishing our organic smallholding. We have built beds for growing our vegetables in and have planted various fruit bushes and trees along with the mature trees we all ready had, these have allowed us to now be self sufficient in fruit and vegetables. We have raised our own pigs and ducks for meat and our supplies of beef, goat and lamb we get from our neighbours in the village. Currently we have ducks and chickens for eggs, a couple of geese and we have recently got 3 bee hives. We also have 2 dogs and 3 cats that share our house with us.

We mainly need help in the garden, planting, weeding, picking and preserving our crops and looking after the animals but we are also doing work on the house so if you have any carpentry skills or are into a bit of demolition ( can wield a sledge hammer ) then we have a couple of projects we plan on getting done, mainly building a de-hydrator and a summer kitchen.
We hope to be able to tailor your stay here to suit what you want to get out of it. There is lots to do, plenty to get involved with, just let us know what you hope to gain by volunteering with us and we'll do our best to accommodate you.

A typical working day is that we start early in the morning especially in July / August as it gets far too hot to be working outside past 10a.m., then we'll have a main meal at lunch time then the rest of the day is your own and you can raid our cupboards to take back to your house for your evening meal.

We offer helpers use of our Summer House (link above), and all food provided in exchange for working 5-6 hours a day, five days per week, we prefer it if people can stay a minimum of 2 weeks. Volunteers will be expected to get themselves to the nearby town of Popovo where we can pick them up, but there is a regular bus service to the village.There is no internet at the Summer house, you are welcome to use ours to check emails, facebook etc but we have a limited connection so if you need a regular connection you can get a data sim card in the nearby town of Popovo.

Sorry, we don't have a TV at either house but with all the wonderful scenery and wildlife, who would need one!?

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use